I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.

 

 

From Today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

Those of us who live this program don’t simply carry the message, we are the message. Each day that we live well, we are well, and we embody the joy of recovery which attracts others who want what we’ve found in OA.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 106

 

I have a responsibility to myself, my fellowship, and my God who makes recovery possible, to well represent that recovery.  We pass around our “before” pictures as part of our tale, but it is my job to be the best “after” picture I can be, not just physically, but to embody the attractive joy of recovery that inspires others to pursue.

 

 

 

From Proverbs Chapter 19:

27 Stop listening to instruction, my son, and you will stray from the words of knowledge.

 

The duty to be the message carries with it a duty to remain faithful to that message and to the recovery it represents.  No faking and no shortcuts!  I found that recently, I was tempted to overlook a pound on my scale, resisting the truth that my decline in activity over the past couple weeks had taken an effect.  To cover it up is to promote myself; to be honest about it and move off the couch again is to make recovery attractive.  No one wants to know somebody who gets it right all the time.  By sharing my struggles with others, I include myself in the group of fellow strugglers, which is where I have to remain in order for the fellowship to work for me, and me for it.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 2 Chronicles 33:

Hezekiah’s successor was Manasseh.  “9 But Manasseh led Judah and the people of Jerusalem astray, so that they did more evil than the nations the LORD had destroyed before the Israelites.”  In response, God allowed the king of Assyria to carry the king away to Babylon as his captive.  “12 In his distress he sought the favor of the LORD his God and humbled himself greatly before the God of his fathers.  13 And when he prayed to him, the LORD was moved by his entreaty and listened to his plea; so he brought him back to Jerusalem and to his kingdom. Then Manasseh knew that the LORD is God.”  He returned to his kingdom and did his best to return Judah back to the Lord, but when he died he was succeeded by his son, Amon, who followed all his idolatrous ways and rejected God, until he was assassinated two years into his reign.

 

How bad do things have to get before we listen to the God who only wants us to return to Him?  A Babylonian prison, bronze shackles, a hook in our nose, an eating disorder, a life in disorder?   By the time we listen, submit, and respond will we have led others so far astray that their demise will be the result for our misbehavior?   What kind of action can I take to prevent it from being too late to help those I have started off badly? The answer is: living the best, freest, most helpful today I possibly can, reflecting the Light of Life so that any of my survivors may follow that Light.  Time is God’s, not mine.  He will do with it what He will, and I will trust Him to teach the lessons of life to whom He will.

 

 

 

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 95:

Never talk down to an alcoholic from any moral or spiritual hilltop; simply lay out the kit of spiritual tools for his inspection. Show him how they worked with you. Offer him friendship and fellowship. Tell him that if he wants to get well you will do anything to help.

 

 

 

3 John 2, “Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.” – OD@aT

~TLJax

