I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  My daughter is home and needs my help with a project that provides me an opportunity to be of service to one high up on my Step Eight list.

 

 

From Today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

Real humility about our character defects carries with it acceptance.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 61

That chapter of the OA 12 and 12 goes on to say, “Our job is to be willing to let go of old attitudes which block humility, such as low self-esteem, status-seeking, and self-righteousness.”  I needed to look it up because when I read the excerpt in the VOR, I wanted to make sure it was talking about my childish tendency to defend myself against implications that I was defective.  It was!  I’m glad to be reminded I am not the only one whose pat answer was, “Nuh-uh, not me!  I am not!”  It does amaze me that I found myself on both sides of the self-value scale, puffed up with self-righteousness one minute and moping around like Eeyore, Winnie the Pooh’s self-loathing donkey friend, the next.  When the fulcrum of my universe is me, I get squashed under its weight without fail.

From Proverbs Chapter 18:

3 When wickedness comes, so does contempt, and with shame comes disgrace.

This speaks to the reverse nature of humility, and puts a word to that self-balanced universe – “wickedness.”  The contempt, shame, and disgrace are natural fruits of that warped thinking, germinating from the soil bedded with such character defects as low self-esteem, status seeking, and self-righteousness.  The idea of wickedness coming gives me pause.  The proverb suggests that it visits like an unwanted guest.  Here is a good reason to keep vigilant guard against such thoughts and attitudes.  Evil is almost always sneaky.

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 2 Chronicles 32:

Hezekiah’s life was more thoroughly described in 2 Kings 18-20, but this chapter is a recap of the threats of Sennacherib king of Assyria, and then later Hezekiah’s death.  One thing I like about this chapter is Hezekiah’s response to the news that the overwhelmingly sized army of Assyria was marching toward Jerusalem.

6 He appointed military officers over the people and assembled them before him in the square at the city gate and encouraged them with these words: 7 ‘Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or discouraged because of the king of Assyria and the vast army with him, for there is a greater power with us than with him. 8 With him is only the arm of flesh, but with us is the LORD our God to help us and to fight our battles.’ And the people gained confidence from what Hezekiah the king of Judah said.”

 

Just like Satan’s lies in the Garden of Eden, Sennacherib taunted Jerusalem with attempts to shatter their security and threw in some doubt concerning their food supply.  “11 When Hezekiah says, ‘The LORD our God will save us from the hand of the king of Assyria,’ he is misleading you, to let you die of hunger and thirst.”  You will surely die; you will not surely die; one bite won’t hurt; you will never have enough.  The liar never changes, but the lies change to suit the fears of the one being taunted.  This is why encouragement like that shared by Hezekiah is so important for people to hear.  The One with us is a Power greater than whatever force may assail us!

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 58-59:

With all the earnestness at our command, we beg of you to be fearless and thorough from the very start. Some of us have tried to hold on to our old ideas and the result was nil until we let go absolutely. Remember that we deal with alcohol—cunning, baffling, powerful! Without help it is too much for us. But there is One who has all power—that One is God. May you find Him now!

3 John 2, “Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.” – OD@aT

~TLJax

