I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.   I found opportunity to be helpful yesterday in big ways.  I like days like that, when I can fulfill my purpose of helping others!   Some days the tool gets used, and other days the tool gets maintained.  Today looks to be one of maintenance, filled mostly with the tasks of self-care and household management.  I will look for ways to be helpful along the way.

 

From Today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

When fear strikes my heart, I remember that fear and faith cannot dwell in the same place at the same time. When I fear myself or other people, places, or things, it reminds me to concentrate on faith.

Resentments from my past cultivate fears about my future, and neither one of these are healthy for me.  They promote doubt, which makes me insulate against the pain that might be and against the healing that might not.  My diseased thinking then paints everything with a thick coat of that doubt:  “I doubt I’ll ever be thin/healthy/attractive,” “I doubt God knows/cares I exist,” “I doubt I’m worth knowing/loving/caring for,” or even, “I doubt God can/will/wants to help me.”  By staying engaged in my program of recovery, I am reprogramming my faulty responses to act in a state of prayerful submission rather than to react in that diseased thinking.  When I reach for my faith, my fears melt away, unable to occupy the same space and time.

From Proverbs Chapter 10:

28 The prospect of the righteous is joy, but the hopes of the wicked come to nothing.”

 

I look at the words “righteous” and “wicked” in terms of alignment, because the labels don’t stick well to people, but to their attitude, their angle of attack, the position of their lives over the template of its design.  When I am living according to the Creator’s plan, my alignment is “right” and life, for that moment, is “righteous.”  Conversely, when my living is askew from the plan, I am living in discord or “wickedness.”

This verse gives hope to those who make alignment a priority, but also takes it away from the unwilling.  When my daughter was young, she asked me why she had to be either punished or rewarded.  She wanted to know what she could do to just be left alone.  I explained that love required me to punish her to keep her living in the best ways, keeping good options open, and sometimes punishment was the only way to steer her away from misbehavior.  I wanted her living life that would always be rewarded, but because she was normal, she could expect some punishment now and then.  I am reminded that, left alone, I will wither, die, and rot.  Only in my proper alignment will I be in position to receive all that the Great Architect had in mind when He drew the plans for my life.  Galatians 5:5, “But by faith we eagerly await through the Spirit the righteousness for which we hope.”  The alignment, the righteousness itself, is my prospect of joy!

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 2 Chronicles 22 and 23:

Madness, murder and mayhem mark the first of these two chapters.  Jehoram king of Judah was succeeded by his only remaining son, Ahaziah, who was killed while visiting the king of Israel about a year later.  This sent Ahaziah’s mother, Athaliah, on a murderous rampage, and she killed all the royal family so she could rule as queen.  But Jehoram had a surviving daughter who was married to a priest.  She stole away Ahaziah’s baby son, Joash, and hid him in the temple until he was seven.  The foster-mother’s husband, Jehoiada the priest, then assembled the Levites, the military commanders, and the heads of all the families and organized a plan.  “3 The whole assembly made a covenant with the king at the temple of God.  Jehoiada said to them, ‘The king’s son shall reign, as the LORD promised concerning the descendants of David.’”  He had the boy king crowned under fierce guard, and when the mad queen rushed in to protest, she was put to death.  “21 and all the people of the land rejoiced. And the city was quiet, because Athaliah had been slain with the sword.

My disease is like Athaliah the wicked queen, ravenously selfish, and bent on destruction.  The last verse of the reading today said that all the people “rejoiced” at her death.  So what we have here is a dramatic picture of the prospect of joy for the righteous, and the ultimate demise of the wicked, just as described in Proverbs 10:28.  God has been orchestrating solutions, matching calamity with serenity, and finding ways for light in the darkness since the beginning of time.  The Great Deliverer has shown us representations of Himself in Moses, Joash, Jonah, and in the lives of many others including me.  He makes a way for His children.  The Bible is filled with promises of deliverancePsalm 34:17 and 19, “17 The righteous cry out, and the LORD hears them; he delivers them from all their troubles.  19 A righteous man may have many troubles, but the LORD delivers him from them all.

Heavenly Father, thank You for Your deliverance!   Please help me to maintain my alignment with Your will and design, so that I may not foul up Your blessing with my own will, wish and way.  Today I put to death my own self-will, gladly sacrificing it to You as an offering.  I celebrate my freedom in You, King of Kings!

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 151:

The less people tolerated us, the more we withdrew from society, from life itself. As we became subjects of King Alcohol, shivering denizens of his mad realm, the chilling vapor that is loneliness settled down. It thickened, ever becoming blacker.

 

3 John 2, “Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.” – OD@aT

~TLJax

 

