I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.

I recently became a Green Lantern fan.  In my excitement, I did a goofy thing: I ordered the DVD of what I thought was the new movie but turned out to be the full-length animated feature.  I felt the imaginary lollipop wrapper envelop my face with the label, “sucker.”  Still, I watched the animated feature and found a lot of the same recovery parallels that endeared me to its blockbuster cousin.  The hero’s strength comes from a ring of power, thoughtfully forged by a council of wise, immortal beings called “the guardians,” to help preserve peace and order in the universe.  These rings are each charged by a lantern filled with the power of “will.”  Each of the rings selects the respective hero who will wear it based on the recipient’s ability to face their fears.  The home planet of the Green Lantern Corps, where each lantern receives its power charge, ironically, is called, “Oa.”  Can you believe it?

 

From Today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

Unconscious eating is one of the ways I express my lack of conscious contact with God.  Eating is a habit and a compulsion. 

  When frightened or angry, I often find myself in the kitchen without being completely conscious of what I’m doing.”

It helps me to consider the time between each meal a period of spiritual fasting, during which I reflect my gratitude to God for my abstinence.  This serves to improve conscious contact with God by transforming food thoughts into prayer-triggers, and keeps those thoughts from turning into moments of frustration, despair, or relapse into eating.

From Proverbs Chapter 7:

 1 My son, keep my words and store up my commands within you.”  I need to seek, rehearse, and keep as much of my Higher Power’s will for my life as I can store so that, like a battery, I will be charged with His power as I go through my day.  Making provision for my success means that I allow God to recharge me with His will on a regular basis, so that I am not found without that source of power in a time of need.  Recognizing that my entire life constitutes a “moment of need” and that I am powerless in my own strength helps me maintain this regular practice.

The seductress makes provision for my demise, whether I make provision for my success or not.  “17 I have perfumed my bed with myrrh, aloes and cinnamon.”  My foe plans and prepares, waiting for my moment of weakness, when my resolve slackens and I become vulnerable to the trap of temptation.  If I am not charged up with God’s will for that moment, I will become like the masses who forfeited their control and lives to self-indulgence.  “26 Many are the victims she has brought down; her slain are a mighty throng.

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 2 Chronicles 19:

Jehoshaphat appointed judges to help him maintain order in Judah.  “6 He told them, ‘Consider carefully what you do, because you are not judging for man but for the LORD, who is with you whenever you give a verdict.  7 Now let the fear of the LORD be upon you.  Judge carefully, for with the LORD our God there is no injustice or partiality or bribery.”  We compulsive overeaters tend to have a warped sense of punishment and reward.  We have found any excuse to reward ourselves with food, and we punish ourselves for being “bad” on a succession of diets or for a lapse in abstinence.  Our trouble is often in that constructive time between Step Three when we made a decision to turn our will and our lives over to God, and Step Eleven when we sought His will for us and the power to carry that out.  Because these commitments combine, as judges presiding over the application of God’s will for our lives, we can apply the charge of Jehoshaphat, to “consider carefully what you do, because you are not judging for man (yourselves) but for the LORD.”  With God’s will as our guide in judgment, we will not find ourselves subject to bribery, partiality, or injustice.  There is only provision for health and purpose, or regression into harm.  I am serving either God and His children, or myself and the seductress.

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 45:

We could wish to be moral, we could wish to be philosophically comforted, in fact, we could will these things with all our might, but the needed power wasn’t there.  Our human resources, as marshaled by the will, were not sufficient; they failed utterly.

  Lack of power, that was our dilemma.  We had to find a power by which we could live, and it had to be a Power greater than ourselves.”

 

3 John 2, “Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.” – OD@aT

