I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  It is good to get away, but it is also good to be home!

 

 

From Today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Don’t allow yourself to either think or talk about any real or imagined pleasure you once got from certain foods.”  – Before You Take That First Compulsive Bite, Remember…

 

I have that pamphlet, but I remember resisting it, and only reading it once or maybe twice.  Reading this excerpt today reminded me that it was because it seemed so directive, and my tendency is to resist direction until the meaning and purpose behind them becomes clear to me.  Now that I have been abstinent for a little while, I can see where this advice and maybe some of the other suggestions would have been helpful for me if I had just followed them.  This idea of food fantasizing has been harmful to my serenity on occasion and could have threatened my abstinence.  It is better to keep such thoughts from my attention than to try to rein them in once they have begun.  I have to remember this experience with other bits of wisdom that get shared with me.  I tend to take those pieces with which I am familiar or which match my will, and leave the rest; instead of taking what I can use and leaving the rest.

 

 

From Proverbs Chapter 6:

23 For these commands are a lamp, this teaching is a light, and the corrections of discipline are the way to life.

 

This verse refers to one preceding it that speaks of “your father’s commands” and “your mother’s teaching.”  This Scripture doesn’t mention any exception for the foolish, neglectful, or self-serving parents, so I am led to believe that it incorporates all of the good, constructive influences – the people serving the roles of what a “father’s commands” and “mother’s teaching” should be.  They might include my church leadership, my fellowship sponsor, my responsible aunts, uncles, grandparents, wise friends, or even an instructive pamphlet of recovery suggestions.  I was blessed to have parents who were not derelict or abusive, but I know many whose parents were.  Still, those two are some whose suggestions I have resisted more than any others!

 

I can either try to find my own way in the dark, as I have been doing most of my life, or I can follow the light of life, the teaching of the wise, the instruction of those who have gone this way before me.  There are no extra points for finishing life bruised and blindfolded.  I might as well follow the lanterns left to guide me!  God, help me follow Your guiding light.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 2 Chronicles 18:

 

Jeshoshaphat visited neighboring King Ahab, and insisted that they consult a prophet of God before striking out against the Arameans in battle.  Ahab resisted the prophet of God, saying, “7 but I hate him because he never prophesies anything good about me, but always bad.”  When the prophet warned of his doom, Ahab rejected the warning and set out anyway, only in disguise.  He refused to accept the truth, but tried to work his own will and way around the situation at hand.  Ahab was killed just as predicted by the prophet of God.

 

What a picture of unheeded advice, unaccepted suggestion!  I know that to resist the truth is to flirt with the lies that keep me sick, and are ultimately trying to kill me.  I want to be freed from the “bitter morass” of my disease, but still flirt with the idea of getting mud on my toes.  This goes to that “outside edge of the roadway” living that I have been thinking about lately.  It is not enough to stay on the path.  I need to stay as close to its center as I can get, far from the hazards of the shoulder.  The lamplight of life directs me straight at true.  I need to follow its course.

 

 

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 58:

Rarely have we seen a person fail who has thoroughly followed our path.

 

 

 

3 John 2, “Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.” – OD@aT

