I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.

 

 

From Today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

What a miracle!  I no longer need to isolate myself, as I have come to believe in a power greater than myself, and I share the camaraderie of fellow compulsive overeaters.

 

What a joy it is to know that the Orchestrator of the universe has taken enough of an interest in me to pattern out this miracle of life on my behalf.  He has made me; He has provided for me all I need to make a clean, healthy, connected life with Him; and He seems intent on re-making me even as often and as severely as my rebellion has damaged and distorted His design.  What a miracle!  What a Miracle Maker!

 

The VOR contributor wrote these lines in response to a quote from pages 15-16 of “the OA 12 and 12” which read, “Before we joined the OA Fellowship our prayers for help might have gone unanswered simply because we were never meant to face this disease in isolation.”  Now that I am recovering, I don’t pretend to need to know the why and what next of God Almighty, but this does point out that His timing is perfect, and often He waits on his children to grow into the blessings He has for them.  We imperfect parents wouldn’t give a baby a speckled trout or buy our toddler a new car.  Why would the Heavenly Father have less consideration for timing and growth?

 

Thank You, Papa, for waiting on me and teaching me to wait on You.

 

 

From Proverbs Chapter 25:

2 It is the glory of God to conceal a matter; to search out a matter is the glory of kings.

 

I was the second of four children, and my older sister was separated by more years than it took my parents to have all three of the rest of us.  So, “That’s for me to know and you to find out,” is a phrase I know well as a separator of beings into an intellectual pecking order.  At first reading, this proverb echoes the hollow, lonely gong of that big-sister-bell, which served to elevate one to a status far superior to her underlings.  However, when I consider, with all due humility, that the Keeper and Knower of all things has prepared for His children a treasure hunt, a growing exercise of discovery and new enlightenment, and that He fueled us with a hunger to find more of His treasures, I can appreciate this statement in a new way.  God baffled the workers at Babel, and that was to His glory.  But the same God allowed Neil Armstrong to step on the face of the moon, and the world reveled in the glory of the United States, the winner of the “Space Race.”  My insecurity sees separation; my humble reverence sees great and awesome.

 

Holy Father, make me ready to experience whatever You have for me next, and fuel me on toward its purpose!

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 2 Chronicles 6 and 7:

 

As the temple of the Lord willed with His presence, Solomon gave thanks and praised God for keeping His promises: of putting him on the throne, enabling him to build the temple, and of being there, making His home with his people Israel.  Solomon blessed the temple, and invoked God’s attention to the prayer prayed in its direction, both of the family and of the foreigner, “6:33 so that all the peoples of the earth may know your name and fear you, as do your own people Israel.”

 

7:1 When Solomon finished praying, fire came down from heaven and consumed the burnt offering and the sacrifices, and the glory of the LORD filled the temple.”  God came to Solomon and made a promise, “14 if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.”   The promise God made was conditional on obedience and, in retrospect, demonstrates His omniscience, “19 But if you turn away and forsake the decrees and commands I have given you and go off to serve other gods and worship them, 20 then I will uproot Israel from my land, which I have given them and will reject this temple I have consecrated for my Name.”

 

The same God who knew Solomon would later pervert his lifestyle with foreign wives and prostitute himself to their idol gods still filled this temple with His presence while He could.  He apparently seeks to fill the spaces we prepare for Him even though they are too small for His Majesty and too temporary to suit His Omnipotence.  He still wishes to be with and in me.  I am reminded of a statement God in the form of Jesus made to a Samaritan woman, “Jesus declared, ‘Believe me, woman, a time is coming when you will worship the Father neither on this mountain nor in Jerusalem.’” (John 4:21)  In saying this, He was bringing the “temple” to all who would include themselves in the promise made to Solomon, “If my people…called by my name…humble themselves…pray…seek…turn, then I will hear…forgive…and will heal.”  After all, “God is spirit, and his worshipers must worship in spirit and in truth.” (John 4:24)

 

All Powerful God, Creator of the Universe and Re-Creator of me, breathe Your breath of life into me so that no unclean thing remains.  Blow out the bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice (Ephesians 4:31).  Consume every defect with Your refining fire as I sacrifice them each to you.  Cultivate in me the fruits of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control (Galatians 5:22-23), the fragrant delicacies that are evidences of Your involvement in my life.  Make me a temple of Your Presence, and keep me aligned and adorned with You so that all with whom I have contact may see enough of Your treasure in me to inspire them to discover You for themselves.

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 128-129:

Like a gaunt prospector, belt drawn in over the last ounce of food, our pick struck gold.  Joy at our release from a lifetime of frustration knew no bounds.  Father feels he has struck something better than gold.  For a time he may try to hug the new treasure to himself.  He may not see at once that he has barely scratched the limitless lode which will pay dividends only if he mines it for the rest of his life and insists on giving away the entire product.”

 

 

Have a blessed day (OD@aT)

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.” (3 John 2)

