I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.

 

From Today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“…we were free to set aside theological arguments and examine the idea of spiritual power in the light of our own desperate need for help with our lives.”  The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 14

 

I have a relationship with God.  I do not have a monopoly on Him.   The misery and shame of the global Church is that the Body is divided in so many parts and pieces, each insisting that its perspective or experience is the only acceptable one.  How much water, how much wine, which days, who preaches, what garments, which instruments, what music?  It is like so many fleas claiming the dog they occupy.  The use of the phrases “Higher Power” and “God as you understand Him” allows groups to refer to the God of their respective (not collective) understanding, cease fighting about the rest, and get on with the trusting.

 

 

From Proverbs Chapter 18:

23 A poor man pleads for mercy, but a rich man answers harshly.

 

Reading this I could not help but hear the words of Jesus, “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.” (Matthew 5:3)  Recognition of my spiritual poverty is what fuels my quest for recovery.  It is with that empty account that I come to rely wholly on God and daily beg Him to fill my heart, trusting that if doing so would please Him, I should not be concerned that He would neglect my cup and bowl.  Those unfortunates, equally impoverished but deluded with a posture of spiritual wealth or self-satisfaction, habitually assert their own will and way on the lives of those around them, assaulting and battering an endless string of victims with their exclusive understanding of a Being who, ironically, only seeks to save and serve.  (Luke 19:10)  My recovery from this habit of harshness, this delusion of wealth, is a greater cause for celebration than any reduction of waistline!  “My Creator, I am now willing that You should have all of me…

 

“I don’t need God,” is the bleat of the most desperately lost sheep.  God forbid that I should have any part of driving any such farther from You.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 1 Chronicles 24:

The priestly line of Aaron was divided up for ministry by a lottery system.  “3 …David separated them into divisions for their appointed order of ministering.  …5 They divided them impartially by drawing lots…”  Another verse at the end of the chapter affirmed the process to be one without partiality, “31 …The families of the oldest brother were treated the same as those of the youngest.”  The line of Aaron was a blessed one, entrusted with the most holy ministerial duties, and yet none among them could declare any superiority over the other.  Each was put in his place by the casting of lots, a process of relinquishing control to a power outside the thoughts, will, and ways of man.  “The lot is cast into the lap, but its every decision is from the LORD.” (Proverbs 16:33)  Neither can I boast of any perspective but of one looking up from the feet of those I might serve.

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 17:

We are people who normally would not mix. But there exists among us a fellowship, a friendliness, and an understanding which is indescribably wonderful. We are like the passengers of a great liner the moment after rescue from shipwreck when camaraderie, joyousness and democracy pervade the vessel from steerage to Captain’s table. Unlike the feelings of the ships passengers, however, our joy in escape from disaster does not subside as we go our individual ways. The feeling of having shared in a common peril is one element in the powerful cement which binds us.

 

 

Have a blessed day (OD@aT)

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.” (3 John 2)

