I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.

 

Yesterday I was reminded that part of Martin Luther King, Jr.’s dream was that a person would no longer be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.  I know that God judges based on very different things but, thanks to Him, I am celebrating a rejuvenation of character that I believe will rehabilitate my relationships with my fellow humans who, God willing, will judge a man by his character and not by the color, shape, or size of the container.  The Twelve Steps of Recovery – what a positive dream!

 

 

From Today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Through working the Twelve Steps and relying on my Higher Power, perseverance now means working through daily struggles with the hope of resolution and a brighter tomorrow, trusting my Higher Power to remove my impatience and replace it with the willingness I need to see that working through struggles is a part of recovery, and in His time, the answers will come.”    

 

Nature abhors a vacuum.  I know that when I remove a character defect, something will likely rush in to replace it.  I think that may be why flipping a defect over to reveal its counterpart asset seems a more natural process.  I, like many compulsive overeaters, have many obsessive tendencies. Obsession or stubbornness can be turned over into perseverance.  Food obsession flipped over can become the asset that might label its owner a “health-nut.”  I am more than willing to be identified by extremes as long as they represent spiritual, physical, and mental health.  “Jesus freak” and “health-nut” are much better nicknames than anything I was called on the playground!  I can’t think of one that represents mental stability, but maybe someday God will apply some such.  I have just about decided that “silly” is the root word of “resilient.”  Maybe I’ve been wearing that label all along!

 

 

 

From Proverbs Chapter 17:

24 A discerning man keeps wisdom in view, but a fool’s eyes wander to the ends of the earth.

 

Reading this, I see a person who will fill his eyes with something, anything.  In compliance with the natural abhorrence of a vacuum, such a one will not empty his eyes, but will fill it with something else.  If I do not intentionally keep focused on wisdom and its natural companions: understanding, patience, discernment and the like, then my eyes will wander, looking for something else to fill them.  In a world as set out to destroy me as this one seems to be, it won’t be long before I start believing the lies that I deserve indulgence, that momentary pleasure is bliss, that sensual gratification is what matters.  The end result of such thinking is separation from God, which I already know leaves me empty, hollow, and alone.  It is that emptiness I was originally trying to satisfy with food!

 

When Peter saw Jesus walking on the water, he was excited and begged to join Him.  As soon as Peter shifted his gaze to the wind and the waves, he began to sink.  God, help me keep my eyes on You and Your wisdom and not let my eyes become distracted!

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 1 Chronicles 23:

Chapter 23 describes the priestly line of Levites, with which I relate figuratively as a grafted-in branch, adopted into the family of royal priests by the work of Christ.  Verse 13 describes Aaron’s sanctification (setting aside for holy purposes), and I can apply the mission to my own life, “Aaron was set apart, he and his descendants forever, to consecrate the most holy things, to offer sacrifices before the LORD, to minister before him and to pronounce blessings in his name forever.”  This verse takes on more personal meaning in the light of New Testament Scriptures like Romans 12:1, “…offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God…”  Certain Levites were given various tasks pertaining to maintenance and management of the temple, but some assignments are applicable even today.  “30 They were also to stand every morning to thank and praise the LORD.  They were to do the same in the evening.”  Whatever else I am given the opportunity and ability to do, I can certainly praise the Lord!

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 75:

We thank God from the bottom of our heart that we know Him better.

 

 

Have a blessed day (OD@aT).   “Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.” (3 John 2)

