I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.

 

From Today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Those of us who live this program don’t simply carry the message; we are the message.  Each day that we live well, we are well, and we embody the joy of recovery.”  The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 106 

 

The contributor adds, “I can be a living example or a dying example of how the program works.”  It is too bad, but unfortunately necessary, that there remain those dying examples among us, those “unfortunates” who represent the life we would live without the rigorous honesty required to successfully work this program.  Everyone in a room is a teacher to me; some teach me how to live, and others show me what not to do.  Each is equally important if I am to find and remain on the path God has laid out for me.  If I am careful to stay on it, I may find myself in a parade of life, gratefully following those who went before me and being followed by other living examples.

 

 

From Proverbs Chapter 16:

4 The LORD works out everything for his own ends – even the wicked for a day of disaster.

 

As I read this, my mind was still on the previous thought: of people as living and dying examples.  God orchestrates everything to bring about His purposes.  Even the unwilling become momentary companions, service opportunities, and road signs for the faithful followers.  It is not for me to judge those on the road around me.  I cannot help to their feet a person on whose neck I am standing!  It is only for me to help those I can, to avoid stepping on those who have fallen (or laid down) on the path, and to represent as true an example as I am given the power to live, one moment at a time. My role is to live in the Light of Life, and reflect it for others to see, follow, and enjoy.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 1 Chronicles 20 through 22:

These chapters recount the mistake of David’s arrogance (parallel referenced in 2 Samuel 24) when he conducted a census to measure the might of his fighting army.  “20:7 This command was also evil in the sight of God; so he punished Israel” with a plague that killed seventy thousand.  This demonstrates the severity with which my Higher Power detests it when I rely on my own power rather than His.  I also got a glimpse of the heart of my Heavenly Father in 1 Chronicles21:15, “And God sent an angel to destroy Jerusalem.  But as the angel was doing so, the LORD saw it and was grieved because of the calamity and said to the angel who was destroying the people, ‘Enough!  Withdraw your hand.’

 

Chapter 22 describes something I needed to read again: David made plans and collected provision to build a temple for God, but it was God’s decision to keep him from accomplishing it, but every provision he made helped his son, Solomon carry out the mission.  The verse that precedes today’s Proverb nugget about the Lord working everything out for His own ends says, “Commit to the LORD whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.” (Proverbs 16:3)  I held this verse in a little contempt because I applied it once to a business venture that, from my perspective, failed.  I resented God about what I perceived as an unfulfilled promise, until I combined it with the part of today’s verse I had neglected: “His own ends.”  David planned and gathered, but was not allowed to build.  I worked and invested, but my business venture died on the vine.  …Or did it?  The things I learned while trying to develop that business venture proved to be the very foundational principles on which I would later build my Plan of Eating that would help save my life.  God’s own ends were not the ones I had in mind, but “the LORD works out everything for his own ends”!

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, pages 58:

Those who do not recover are people who cannot or will not completely give themselves to this simple program, usually men and women who are constitutionally incapable of being honest with themselves. There are such unfortunates. They are not at fault; they seem to have been born that way. They are naturally incapable of grasping and developing a manner of living which demands rigorous honesty.

 

 

Have a blessed day (OD@aT)

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.” (3 John 2)

