From Today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“We are neither above nor below the rest of the human race; we’re a part of it.”  – The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 47

 

The delusion of grandeur to which this statement alludes was one of the character defects that first alarmed me to the fact that I was indeed spiritually sick.  As I look back over my journals from early in my recovery, I see evidences of it and am disgusted to admit that I once believed I was somehow elevated over other humans.  I still wax into this warped thinking, occasionally forgetting the value of a person and objectifying them as an obstacle in my path rather than an opportunity to serve.  The unmanageable mess of it was that, since I held myself up higher, I was not entitled to make mistakes or let bad things happen in my life without loathing myself for them.  My first sponsor once referred to himself (and me) as an “egomaniac with an inferiority complex.”  That perfectly describes what I discovered as I conducted my moral inventory in Step Four.  Accepting my humanity meant coming to an understanding of my limits, but also granting myself inclusion among the rest of the race of humans.  In the words of Aunt Eller from the musical Oklahoma!, “I don’t say I’m no better’n anybody else, but I’ll be danged if I aint just as good!

 

 

From Proverbs Chapter 13:

15 Good understanding wins favor, but the way of the unfaithful is hard.

 

It’s tough going through life thinking you’re in charge, especially when so much goes on contrary to the way you would have it.  It is frustrating when the traffic signals don’t let you pass and people get in your way and people you love hurt, die, or leave.  When I live without the understanding that God is in control and His ways are not my ways but are much higher*, I live in a constant state of frustration and discontent, always trying to manipulate people and circumstances to conform to my will and way, and perpetually angry at their non-compliance.  “Good understanding” frees me from that life of wrath.  It is a splendid prize to walk in the favor of this kind of understanding!  (* See Isaiah 55:8-9.)

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 1 Chronicles 17:

In his humility, King David realized he had built for himself a great palace but had left God’s ark and altar in a tent.  As he made this confession, God explained, through Nathan, that He had never asked for David to build Him a temple, but promised that through his son this blessing would come.  The last half of Chapter 17 contains David’s prayer response to God.  “16 Who am I, O LORD God, and what is my family, that you have brought me this far?”  “25 You, my God, have revealed to your servant that you will build a house for him.  So your servant has found courage to pray to you.”  It is said that humility is recognizing one’s appropriate smallness.  These two verses of prayer show that David recognized his own smallness and yet accepted his value in his relationship with God.  It is this posture of placing ourselves at the feet of our Heavenly Father that puts us within His reach to lift us to His lap.  It is only in relationship that we have any access to Him.  David demonstrated that, without the revelation of God’s provision, he would not even have the courage to pray.  I find the mystery of God’s acceptance amazing, especially given how grossly I continually miss His mark.  But, in spite of what I deserve, He has revealed that He is doing a new thing* in me, a good thing, a work which I am certain I will find well worth the being still to its completion, and to which I should be more than willing to contribute my part.  (*See Isaiah 43:18-19, 2 Corinthians 5:17 and Philippians 1:6.)

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, pages 13-14:

Belief in the power of God, plus enough willingness, honesty and humility to establish and maintain the new order of things, were the essential requirements. Simple, but not easy; a price had to be paid. It meant destruction of self-centeredness. I must turn in all things to the Father of Light who presides over us all.

 

 

Have a blessed day (OD@aT)

