From Today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

After outlining a humble, God-seeking prayer routine the contributor writes, “From the time I started this simple daily routine my recovery stopped plodding forward – it sprang forward.

 

When the day’s demands make me feel like I don’t have time to kneel and pray, I have made two mistakes already: my priorities are in disorder, and I have forgotten Who gave me the time I do have.  I find that the words “feel like” are warning signs of faulty motivation.  If I am careful to detect those watchwords in my thinking, I can step back from them and reevaluate my motives.  When I take the moments to reflect in gratitude for the resources I have and petition the Maker for the ability to serve Him and His children throughout the day, the time I have is always better spent and more productive.  Fueled by the value I find in the One to whom I belong and the purpose there is in fulfilling His will, my recovery blasts off from the launch-pad of my knees.

 

 

From Proverbs Chapter 11:

6 The righteousness of the upright delivers them, but the unfaithful are trapped by evil desires.

 

This is further confirmation that what I feel like keeps me sick.  The concept of evil versus righteousness trips some people up.  The semantics, I confess, make for difficult labels to apply to my own behavior.  If, however, I consider it in terms of alignment, where “evil” corresponds with self-centeredness and “righteousness” is aligned with the will of God, this is much easier.  The desires that are self-centered are the ones that trap; and it is living under God’s grace, provision, and direction that sets us free. This chapter is full of similar side-by-side comparison of “righteous” and “wicked.”  Once I come to terms with the wording, Chapter Eleven’s twin towers of light and dark standing in contrast to one another give me a vivid picture of which one to choose.   Gray only seems whitish when there is no perfect white with which to compare it.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 1 Chronicles 13 and 14:

These chapters review the events of the early part of 2 Samuel, when David made a decision to return of the Ark of the Covenant to its rightful place, but in the middle of the procession, lost a friend and became angry at God.  He stopped part-way, leaving the Ark in the house of another who reaped the blessing of its presence.  The king of Tyre honored David with resources to build a palace for himself, and so David turned his attention to building his home and family and carrying on the duties of his new office.  When his enemies threatened him, “13:10, 14 David inquired of God,” and was given victory.  There is another record* of the angelic army mustering in the treetops, “15 As soon as you hear the sound of marching in the tops of the balsam trees, move out to battle, because that will mean God has gone out in front of you to strike the Philistine army.”    (*This was first recorded in 2 Samuel 5:24.)

 

I love this example of the blessing of God going with His chosen, and the chosen looking to His will and following His way.  The best blessing may have been missed when David responded to his grief with anger, but he continued to enjoy the blessing of alignment with God as he sought Him in all his affairs.  Even the army of God moves according to His command.  How great to be allied with such a winning team!

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 68:

We never apologize to anyone for depending upon our Creator. We can laugh at those who think spirituality the way of weakness. Paradoxically, it is the way of strength. The verdict of the ages is that faith means courage. All men of faith have courage. They trust their God. We never apologize for God. Instead we let Him demonstrate, through us, what He can do. We ask Him to remove our fear and direct our attention to what He would have us be. At once, we commence to outgrow fear.

 

 

Have a blessed day (OD@aT)

