From Voices of Recovery:

“I now trust God to do for me what I have never been able to do for myself.  I am powerless over food and the rest of my life.  By God’s grace, I am able to stay abstinent and live in His will ‘one day at a time’!”

 

The contributor to today’s entry wrote of making vows to God about his/her eating and then suffering through the disappointment of failing to keep those vows.  This frustrated sense of control is one reason admitting powerlessness over food is liberating rather than limiting.  God is fully aware that I am not Him.  He made me, and He knows that I cannot walk on water or calm the seas or tame the great creatures or say no to cookies by my own power.  The shortfall in my relationship with God was not in my failure to abstain, but in my assertion that I could, by my own power, accomplish His purposes or somehow attain some level of perfection while living in my own will.

 

God, I admit that I am powerless to manage life.  Father, I can’t; You can; I want You to lead, and I will follow.

 

 

From Proverbs 6:

Speaking of disappointment and shortfalls in relationship with God, Proverbs Chapter 6 contains the “seven abominations” to God, and since seeking God’s way of wisdom is the purpose in my studying Proverbs, it would do me well to mark them.  One method of detecting the right path is by eliminating wrong ones.  Verses 16-19 spell out the worst offenders.

 

16 There are six things the LORD hates,

   seven that are detestable to him:

    17 haughty eyes,

      a lying tongue,

      hands that shed innocent blood,

    18 a heart that devises wicked schemes,

      feet that are quick to rush into evil,

    19 a false witness who pours out lies

      and a man who stirs up dissension among brothers.

 

Providing Papa, thank You for giving me clear signals to follow.  You know I need them!  Please help me to seek, find, and follow them.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 1 Chronicles 6 through 10:

 

Chapter 6 describes the tribe of Levi, the family charged with the priesthood of Israel.  I find it interesting that, while others were named in order of appearance, the three men David put in charge of music in the Tabernacle were given the honor of being identified by their entire lineage, up through Levi and Israel.  One might take away that musical praise is no small thing.

 

Another takeaway from this reading is that the tribe entrusted with the priestly duties totally relied on God’s provision for their well-being, and were amply supplied.  Each tribe of Israel contributed portions and towns for the welfare of the Levites. This was by God’s design according to Moses, and it worked.  The second half of Chapter 6 maps out their provision.  God cares for His servants!

 

In Chapter 7, several tribes are described only to the third or fourth generation, and then in terms of numbers, in some cases even excluding all but fighting men.  This further highlights the honor of the priestly tribe.  Chapter 8 details the line of King Saul, along with Chapter 9, which also details the resettling of Israel after the Babylonian exile.  Chapter 10 describes the battle suicide of King Saul, but delivers a message for the reader along with it.  “13 Saul died because he was unfaithful to the LORD; he did not keep the word of the LORD and even consulted a medium for guidance, 14 and did not inquire of the LORD. So the LORD put him to death and turned the kingdom over to David son of Jesse.”

 

God, I offer myself to You; I seek only You; I trust only You to empower me to serve You and Your children.

 

 

 

From The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, pages 102-103:

Our immediate temptation will be to ask for specific solutions to specific problems, and for the ability to help other people as we have already thought they should be helped.  In that case, we are asking God to do it our way.  Therefore, we ought to consider each request carefully to see what its real merit is.  Even so, when making specific qualification: ‘…if it be Thy will.’  We ask simply that throughout the day God place is us the best understanding of His will that we can have for that day, and that we be given the grace by which we may carry it out.

 “As the day goes on, we can pause where situations must be met and decisions made, and renew the simple request: “Thy will, not mine, be done.’

 

 

Have a blessed day (OD@aT)

