Voices of Recovery today quotes The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, page 15, “Many of us had asked God to help us control our weight and this prayer hadn’t worked.  The contributor wrote, “Today I pray, but I ask for guidance instead of help with my weight… My weight loss results from actions I am willing to take…  I have compared my daily plan of eating to a series of spiritual fasts in which each craving is a reminder to pray, not for weight loss or success, but for the willingness to do the right thing, for the serenity to accept whatever circumstance is causing my emotional upheaval, and for rededication to following God’s will and not my own.  I am grateful for my abstinence, for the plenty I was given at the last meal, and for the provision for my next meal.  God, You are enough. Let Your will, not mine, be done!

 

 

Proverbs 13:12 reads, “Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life.  I have watched many times as my son became disheartened because of disappointments related mostly to lack of scholastic progress or some parental chiding.  I often thought of this verse concerning him, and tried to put something positive in his path to keep him motivated.  Looking back over my vain attempts at dieting, I can also see this verse come to life.  Slow and no progress often made me so heartsick that I gave up and medicated myself with extra food, repeatedly exclaiming in disgust, “Forget it, I’m eating!”  But when my vanity, will, and way were removed from control, the fat, the physical manifestation of my heartsickness, began to melt away.  Holy Father, thank You for becoming my hope (Isaiah 49:23), and allowing me to eat from Your tree of life (Revelation 2:7). 

 

 

In 2 Samuel 13, I read of some of the coming around of David’s sexual sin as promised earlier in 2 Samuel 12:10-12.  Amnon, one of David’s sons, grew lustfully infatuated with his half-sister, Tamar, raped her, then despised her and sent her away to live as a “desolate woman.” (Verse 20)  Tamar’s brother Absalom, demonstrated the power of an unresolved resentment in verse 22, “Absalom never said a word to Amnon, either good or bad; he hated Amnon because he had disgraced his sister Tamar.  Two years he let this resentment fester, until finally he gave vent to his murderous rage and had his brother killed.  (Verse 28)  The rest of the chapter describes David’s receipt of the exaggerated reports of all his sons’ deaths and his overwhelming remorse even after he learned that only Amnon had been killed, then his longing for Absalom’s company as his grief was assuaged.   I know that in my small world, I fellowship with many precious souls whose state of emotional health has been touched by some kind of sexual disgrace, which seems to play a part in the seed-roots of their eating behaviors. Even more common is the instance of hatred of their assailants shared by those who know them.  I hate the violent, self-serving domination that is demonstrated when one human degrades another human.  It is hard for me to hate the action and not the actor.  But rather than trying not to hate, I will focus on loving the harmed, on refusing to allow myself to treat any fellow child of God with disgrace, and on making sure that no person so harmed ever lives a life of desolation because of the wicked action of another.  Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.  Where there is hatred, let me sow love.  Where there is injury, pardon.  Where there is doubt, faith.  Where there is despair, hope.  Where there is darkness, light.  Where there is sadness, joy.  O Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled, as to console; to be understood, as to understand; to be loved, as to love.  For it is in giving that we receive.  It is in pardoning that we are pardoned, and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.  Amen.” (St. Francis of Assissi)

 

 

(From Alcoholics Anonymous  The spiritual life is not a theory. We have to live it.” (page 83)

   When the idea was first presented to me that I was an alcoholic, my mind simply refused to accept it. Horrors! How disgraceful! What humiliation! How preposterous! Why, I loathed the taste of liquor-drinking was simply a means of escape when my sorrows became too great for me to endure. Even after it had been explained to me that alcoholism is a disease, I could not realize that I had it. I was still ashamed, still wanted to hide behind the screen of reasons made up of “unjust treatment,” “unhappiness,” “tired and dejected,” and the dozens of other things that I thought lay at the root of my search for oblivion by means of whiskey or gin.” (From “A Feminine Victory”)

