The speech I fretted over went off well last night, to the glory of God!  I had to surrender my readiness to Him, and accept His outcomes.  It turned out that He got me all the right materials, put me in all the right places, to have all the right conversations, and get in the right frame of mind, even in the right distracting contexts, to say all the right things.  It was amazing!  Hopefully the roomful of grieving family members I addressed will be better equipped to cope through the holidays, not because of the messenger, but because of the message God sent them.  (I maintain the equal rank with Balaam’s donkey – just a messenger.)

 

 

Today’s Voices of Recovery entry quotes The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, page 83, “If we are to experience permanent recovery from compulsive eating, we will have to repeat, day after day, the actions that have already brought us so much healing.”  The contributor continues, “I need to make adjustments in my life which give me the time and opportunity to practice program activities on a daily basis.”  I believe I have to make provision for my success.  God knows I had no problem making provision for my overeating!   

 

 

Today is a day of twin pillars, 11-11-11.  As I read Proverbs 11, I see that each verse of this chapter (with only four exceptions) is a set of twin pillars, contrasting two ways of life: cheating scales and honest scales, pride, and humility, integrity and duplicity.  The chapter goes on, teetering and tottering between sets of two choices for the reader to take and the consequences of each one.  The righteousness of the upright delivers them, but the unfaithful are trapped by evil desire.” (Verse 6)  One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty.” (Verse 24)  Precious Father, give me the sense of direction to choose Your way every time, all the time.  May the needle of the scale of my life always accurately report a reliance on You.

 

 

Ironically another eleven, 2 Samuel 11 was the next chapter in my read through the Bible.  It is the chapter in which King David strayed from the path of integrity by taking another man’s wife, then his life.  His trek toward dishonor began when he sent his men out to war while he, himself, stayed home.  Idleness is never good for a fighting man.  The condensed story is this:  “…he saw a woman bathing.  The woman was very beautiful, and David sent someone to find out about her.” (Verse 2)  (Note to self: when what I want is in contrast with what I know, it would be good to turn away sooner rather than later.)  Even though he discovered this was the wife of one of his commanders, he slept with her anyway, and she became pregnant.  In an attempt to cover his tracks, he invited her husband home from battle, but Uriah was too honorable a man to partake in the luxuries of home and hearth (including wife) while his troop was living in war conditions.  (Thank God for honorable veterans!)  Since this honorable soldier would not play along with his plan, David issued orders to put him in harm’s way, so that he would be killed in battle – a choreographed murder.  Many other soldiers on the front line around this man were killed in the process.  Afterwards, David took Uriah’s wife, Bathsheba, as his own wife, and the last verse says, with an unwritten “duh” these words, “But the thing David had done displeased the LORD.” (Verse 27)  I do find it interesting that the displeasure is on the thing David had done, not on David himself.   I can make a mistake without being a mistake.  The man after God’s own heart is still a man. 

 

 

We stood at the turning point.  We asked His protection and care with complete abandon.” (Alcoholics Anonymous, page 59)

