Today marks a year and a half of abstinence for me.  I am humbled by the grace of God that allows me to continue my abstinence and subsequent recovery one day at a time. 



The contributor to today’s Voices of Recovery entry set out to prove “acting as if” regarding a Higher Power wouldn’t work, but was amazed when it did.  S/he writes, “I only need to do my part – to keep an open mind spiritually, to earnestly pray for help and guidance when I need it, and to pray with gratitude for what I have received.”  God, I am grateful that you are there, working for my good, even when You are not at the forefront of my thoughts.  Help me to see You in the faces of those I might help, and to sense Your hand in the trials I may face.  May every step I take bring me closer to You.

 

 

Proverbs 10:11 reads, “The mouth of the righteous is a fountain of life, but violence overwhelms the mouth of the wicked.”  I was up late last night writing a speech that has me a little stressed.  I took an email break in the wee hours, and read an inspirational parable from a friend of mine about a glob of mud who, though complaining of the process, ended up a beautifully crafted teacup.  My email response contained a warped reference to a beefy coffee mug that would break the skull of any person it struck.  How that kind of violence overwhelmed the sentiment of my real response to my friend’s email I am not quite sure.  What I do know is that I have, at the core of my being, the capability of and tendency toward wickedness.  I also know that my choice is righteousness.  I want my words, all of them, to be life-promoting, hope-encouraging, help-inspiring.  God, make me an instrument of Your peace, Your grace, and Your love.  May I do and say Your will always!

 

 

Fear, self-pride, and shame are the main characters in 2 Samuel 10.  David reached out with a gesture of kindness to his grieving neighbor.  But wicked noblemen spoke of violent conspiracy theories to the neighbor king, who believed them.  In fear, the king tortured and humiliated David’s messengers.  When the king and his men realized the offense they had given David, they began posturing for war, hiring mercenaries to stand between them and David.  David’s response to armies posturing for war was to meet their threat, “But they fled before Israel and David killed seven hundred of the charioteers and forty thousand of their foot soldiers.” (Verse 18)   It is amazing to me that the ears of man are so easily filled to “overwhelm” by the whispers of violence. 

 

 

There is a segment in the middle of this chapter that speaks to me of the power of community in fellowship.  Verses 11 and 12 find two of David’s commanders back to back, sandwiched between two opposing armies, “Joab said, ‘If the Arameans are too strong for me, then you are to come to my rescue; but if the Ammonites are too strong for you, then I will come to rescue you.  Be strong and let us fight bravely for our people and the cities of our God.  The LORD will do what is good in his sight.’”  They committed to fight bravely, to come to one another’s rescue if necessary, and to trust God with the outcomes.  That lesson speaks!

 

 

He saw that he had to place the outcome in God’s hands or he would soon start drinking again, and all would be lost anyhow.”  (Alcoholics Anonymous, page 80)

