Today’s Voices of Recovery deals with the myth most of us believed at one point, “If we could just get to the perfect weight, life would be perfect.”  (The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, page 4)  The contributor described the surprise of having to actually deal with problems, “These truths could have discouraged me.  Instead, they freed me to be human, to make mistakes, and to try again.”  One of the greatest thoughts OA has taught me is that I can make a mistake without being a mistake.  Another is that I do not outrank my Higher Power, so if He has forgiven me, I have no business holding a grudge, against myself or anyone else.  Freedom comes to me, not when I get my ‘if only’ but when I let go of all my ‘if only’s and what if’s and just let God be God.

 

 

Proverbs 7:21 warns, “With persuasive words she led him astray; she seduced him with her smooth talk.”  The picture drawn is of a seductress and a youth.  While I certainly take the literal warning concerning adultery, I have to also notice that my enemy comes, as verse 10says, “dressed like a prostitute and with crafty intent.”  The destroyer doesn’t come dressed in horns, tail and a pitchfork; he comes in many attractive, distracting disguises.  Before he took the job as CEO of World Vision, Richard Stearns was offered a multi-million dollar job elsewhere.  The destroyer needs only to distract me.  Once I find myself alone without purpose, my self-destruction is never far behind.  This is why it is deathly important that I go to meetings, keep in constant contact with my God and my fellowship, work the Steps daily, and live my life firmly on a path of recovery.  Even the shoulders of this road are too slippery for me.  I must stay centered and focused.   Otherwise, verse 26 describes my destiny, “Many are the victims she has brought down; her slain are a mighty throng.”  Being like the masses will get me killed for sure!

 

 

2 Samuel 7 is a beautiful exchange of intimacy between God and David.  It begins when David realized that he was comfortable in his new palace, while the Ark of God remained in a tent.  Before David had a chance to do anything about this perceived inequity, God addressed him through the prophet Nathan, releasing David from obligation to build any house for Him and then making an unusual promise:  When your days are over and you rest with your fathers, I will raise up your offspring to succeed you, who will come from your own bod, and I will establish his kingdom.” (Verse 12)  My response to the notion of this special kingdom promised to come from the line of David, that would never pass away, is one of awe.  A few of David’s words in response capture my sentiments exactly, “Who am I, O Sovereign LORD, and what is my family, that you have brought me this far?” (Verse 18)  How great you are, O Sovereign LORD!  There is no one like you, and there is no God but you…” (Verse 22)  O Sovereign LORD, you are God!  Your words are trustworthy and you have promised these good things to your servant.” (Verse 28)    

 

 

I add to David’s the words of his wife, Abigail, from 1 Samuel 25:41 (NIV), “I am your servant and am ready to serve you and wash the feet of my lord’s servants.”  Son of David, I seek first Your Kingdom and Your righteousness, and trust that all the things I might otherwise concern myself with will be provided.  Grant me the grace to accept with serenity the things that cannot be changed, the courage to change the things which should be changed, and the wisdom to distinguish the one from the other.  Guide me along straight paths as I put my trust in You.  Keep my foot from stumbling, and my eyes from wandering.   Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

 

 

If there was a Devil, he seemed the Boss Universal, and he certainly had me.

  “But my friend sat before me, and he made the point-blank declaration that God had done for him what he could not do for himself. His human will had failed. Doctors had pronounced him incurable. Society was about to lock him up. Like myself, he had admitted complete defeat. Then he had, in effect, been raised from the dead, suddenly taken from the scrap heap to a level of life better than the best he had ever known!  (Alcoholics Anonymous, page 11)

