Voices of Recovery’s entry for today makes a good point about Step One, “There is a tremendous paradox between powerlessness and responsibility.”  The writer goes on to later say, “The phrase is ‘powerless over food,’ not “powerless over footwork’.”  I am still responsible for turning over my will and my life over to God, for working the Steps, for committing my food to another, and for making service my driving purpose.

In Proverbs 3:21, my Heavenly Father speaks to me, “My son, preserve sound judgment and discernment, do not let them out of your sight; they will be life for you, an ornament to grace your neck.”  Previous verses personify wisdom and understanding as a woman, more valuable than silver, gold, or rubies.  This idea of “adornment” with sound judgment and discernment can be overwhelming to a person emerging from the fog of a disease characterized by low self-esteem and anxiety.  My Papa wants to adorn me with precious caring and empowered insight that is not only visible, but palpable and attractive.  God, continue to whittle away the crusty, dull parts of my character, so that I can shine and twinkle, attracting other, not to me, but to You.

In 2 Samuel 3, Abner, the commander of Saul’s army, made a pact with David in support of his rule over Israel.  Before he could carry out his plan, an embittered soldier in David’s army murdered Abner to avenge a wartime resentment.  Except for David’s humble sincerity in mourning Abner, the kingdom might have slipped away.  In verse 39, I read that David took a Step One-Two-Three approach to his dilemma, “And today, though I am the anointed king, I am weak, and these sons of Zeruiah are too strong for me.  May the LORD repay the evildoer according to his deeds!” Royal Father, though I am Your son and carefully created, my defects are too strong for me.  May You deal with them according to Your will, and make me presentable to wear the Family Name, so others may see and realize that they, too, are Your carefully created child.  May I never allow embittered resentments to threaten Your Kingdom or plan.

There is no more “aloneness,” with that awful ache, so deep in the heart of every alcoholic that nothing, before, could ever reach it. That ache is gone and never need return again.   Now there is a sense of belonging, of being wanted and needed and loved. In return for a bottle and a hangover, we have been given the Keys of the Kingdom.” (Alcoholics Anonymous, Fourth Edition, page 276)

