The contributor to today’s Voices of Recovery writes, concerning Step Eleven, “Situations I thought were impossible have miraculously worked out because I remembered to let go of MY will, and let God’s will be done.”  Divine Provider, may I never be so distracted by what I want that I fail to do what is right.

 

Happy November!  In turning the Book of Proverbs back to Chapter One, I am continuing to look, where I have repeatedly searched before, not always for new insight to wisdom, but for new application.  Truth and wisdom, like true North, do not change, but my compass does even as I move along on the face of the earth.  Navigational metaphor is not out of place relating to Proverbs Chapter One.  I have often considered verses 10 through 19 a warning against piracy, but it could just as reasonably apply to modern street-gangs or even inscrutable sales forces or negligent care-workers. Greed corrupts similarly regardless of occupation.  A takeaway tidbit might be this from verse 10, “My son, if sinners entice you, do not give in to them.”  Verse 15 echoes the warning and adds, “do not set foot on their paths.”  The reason (for those like me, recovering from my-way addiction and “show-me” natural preference) is in verse 19, “ill-gotten gain…takes away the lives of those who get it.”  God, You are in the sowing of the seed and the reaping of the harvest.  May You never find me idle, but may service to You and Your suffering always be my motivation.  I thank You for my daily recovery from my self-indulging appetites.  Keep them from ever being my motivation again.  The same large appetites that threatened to kill me with food bullets could, if unchecked by You, corrupt me to again serve myself.  Good Shepherd, align me safely in Your fold, and keep me in Your flock, by hook and rod when necessary.  I submit to Your care, for Your purpose.

 

The last three chapters of 1 Samuel are short but eventful.  As the Philistine army of Achish mustered to attack Saul and the Israelites, David and his 600 rallied at the rear, but were sent home because the Philistine commanders did not share Achish’s trust of David.  When he returned home, David found his towns plundered, his wives and sons and all the families of his army kidnapped.  Again, as before, he sought the Lord’s advice and followed it, and in so doing returned every soul and scrap taken by the Amelekites (see 30:19), plus the plunder from defeating them.  Meanwhile, Saul and his family were overtaken and killed, and their bodies put on display in the temples of idols, until the valiant men of Jabesh Gilead went on a mission to collect and bury their remains with honor.  Emperor of the Universe, may I never, for one moment, be found in alliance with Your enemies.  Keep me among Your rank and file, and protect my home and hearth while I diligently serve You and You only.  I pledge allegiance to the God of Abraham, Issac and Jacob; and to His Son, Jesus Christ, whose precious blood has bought my inclusion in this Royal Family.  Amen!

 

At some of these we balked. We thought we could find an easier, softer way. But we could not. With all the earnestness at our command, we beg of you to be fearless and thorough from the very start. Some of us have tried to hold on to our old ideas and the result was nil until we let go absolutely.

   Remember that we deal with alcohol – cunning, baffling, powerful! Without help it is too much for us. But there is One who has all power-that One is God. May you find Him now!

   Half measures availed us nothing. We stood at the turning point. We asked His protection and care with complete abandon.”  (Alcoholics Anonymous, pages 58-59)

