Voices of Recovery today quotes page 49 of The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, “Most of us find that fear is at the root of many of our damaging emotions and actions.”  The contributor continues, “Faith is the antidote to fear – faith that my Higher Power is here with me, always has my best interests at heart, and will encourage and guide me to all truth, if I ask.”  I heard in a meeting today that one of the ways we can identify our Higher Power’s will for us is that He always wants life and health for us.  Anything that stands at odds with that is contrary to His will for me.  When I believe that He wants to bless me and not harm me, I am well on my way to a loving relationship with Him and myself.  God, I offer my thanks for Your perfect provision for my health and well-being.  Forgive me, Lord, for coming between You and Your best for me all these years.  Help me to know and follow Your way.

Proverbs 29:19 says, “A servant cannot be corrected by mere words; though he understands, he will not respond.”  I am reminded of the many lessons I have learned at the end of my Heavenly Father’s rod of correction.  Failing to hear or remember His words, I have stepped out of His alignment so repeatedly, I cannot deny or excuse this habit of rebellion I have developed.  Why, then, do I still feel compelled to judge others when they perpetrate actions that will ultimately bring about their own correction or destruction?  I guess the knowledge that God secures me makes me want security for all whom I love.  It frustrates me to see people around me dying, whether from the disease of compulsive overeating or the Disease of Humanity for which there is only one Cure.

Yesterday, I finished the second of several unfinished books I have been reading.  I like a statement I read, “He made no promise…of…immunity from pain and sorrow… He did, however, promise enough joy and courage, enough love and confidence in God to enable those who went his way to do far more than survive.  Because they would be in harmony with the very Life and Spirit of God they would be able to defeat evil.” (page 94, Your God is Too Small, J.B. Phillips; emphasis mine)

In 1 Samuel 26, David found another opportunity to strike King Saul dead and end the cat-and-mouse game, but out of reverence he submitted to the king’s authority, and borrowed Saul’s spear and water jug as evidence of his proximity and loyalty.  He then prayed a prayer that I can use for my personal motivation to love and protect the lives of those around me.  In verse 24, he called out, “As surely as I valued your life today, so may the LORD value my life and deliver me from all trouble.”  Lord, may I guard from harm those within my reach, even at the expense of harm to myself if necessary.  May I never be afraid to cross enemy lines to minister to Your suffering ones.

Your job now is to be at the place where you may be of maximum helpfulness to others, so never hesitate to go anywhere if you can be helpful. You should not hesitate to visit the most sordid spot on earth on such an errand. Keep on the firing line of life with these motives and God will keep you unharmed.” (Alcoholics Anonymous, page 102)

