Voices of Recovery today is one I hope all of my fellows read in its entirety.  The excerpt I chose to share is this:  “We are more than our problems, and OA gives us a fellowship to learn this. Every day I have choices!  Before OA I didn’t feel I had any.  All I need to do is work the program.  Thank God for the people who have gone before to help show me the way.  Thank God I can now be useful to help someone else.” My sentiments exactly!

 

Proverbs 19:27 follows yesterday’s proverb nicely, “Stop listening to instruction, my son, and you will stray from the words of knowledge.”  God, Keep my ears open for Your voice, my hand holding tight to Yours, and my feet planted firmly on Your Way for me.

 

In 1 Samuel 15, God, through the prophet Samuel, told King Saul to completely destroy the Amalekites and everything that belonged to them.  When Saul and his army took inventory, they found a few choice things they preferred to keep, and so violated God’s will for them out of a greedy need to do it their own way.  These choice things, verse 9 says, “they were unwilling to destroy completely.”  Verse 11 contains God’s response, “I am grieved that I have made Saul king.”  God revoked his blessing from Saul because of his disobedience, and in verses 22 and 23 I read the prophet’s word for me, “To obey is better than sacrifice, and to heed is better than the fat of rams.  For rebellion is like the sin of divination, and arrogance like the evil of idolatry.

 

Many of us said to our Maker, as we understood Him: “God, I offer myself to Thee-to build with me and to do with me as Thou wilt. Relieve me of the bondage of self, that I may better do Thy will. Take away my difficulties, that victory over them may bear witness to those I would help of Thy Power, Thy Love, and Thy Way of life. May I do Thy will always!” We thought well before taking this step making sure we were ready; that we could at last abandon ourselves utterly to Him.”  (Alcoholics Anonymous, page 63)

