I practiced the adage “Take what you can use and leave the rest” with the Voices of Recovery entry today.  I liked the statement, “God as I understand Him includes a God I do not understand.”  I know that the more I learn about God, the more I have to learn about Him.  I acknowledge that neither I nor the church with which I affiliate have any monopoly on understanding God.  Any tiny perspective I could have of Him would be so infinitely limited by His expansive greatness that to boast any such would be insane delusion.  I am reminded of the story of the two fleas arguing over who owns the dog they are on.  Still, I celebrate that I have access to Him as a child abnormally born: that as the sheep know their shepherd, I listen and know His voice.  I know He exists, because of a relationship He has with me and I carry Him with me while He carries me wherever I go.

Proverbs 16:20 reads, “Whoever gives heed to instruction prospers, and blessed is he who trusts in the LORD.”  God, keep me teachable, and help me be attentive to Your instruction.  Keep my path straight and my footing firm.  Thank You for leading me lovingly so that I may be in Your Presence always.

In 1 Samuel 13, King Saul followed his compulsion and acted foolishly out of fear, and so incurred the rebuke of Samuel and lost the blessing of God.  (See verses 11-14.)  Verse 14 reads, “But now your kingdom will not endure; the LORD has sought out a man after his own heart and appointed him leader of his people, because you have not kept the LORD’s command.”  God, help me to stand courageous in the face of my fears, to trust You and follow diligently after Your direction.  Keep me from offending You by straying or turning away.  Let fear or resentment never take a hold on me or move me from You perfect will for me.

Both you and the new man must walk day by day in the path of spiritual progress. If you persist, remarkable things will happen. When we look back, we realize that the things which came to us when we put ourselves in God’s hands were better than anything we could have planned. Follow the dictates of a Higher Power and you will presently live in a new and wonderful world, no matter what your present circumstances!” (Alcoholics Anonymous, page 100)

At church this morning, the preacher spoke on Luke 12:13-34.  I put together some highlights that struck me.  “Be on your guard against…greed.  Do not worry about your life…life is more than food… Do not set your heart on what you will eat or drink…but seek his kingdom…for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom.” (Excerpts from verses 15, 22, 23, 29, 31, and 32)

