The Voices of Recovery entry today speaks of humility and the release of contrary selfish attitudes, and closes, “For today, I am willing to give up the old ways, which did not work, for a new way of life, which offers me recovery from my food addiction.”  This reminds me that when I feel pitiful for not getting my way, I would do well to recall that it was my way that kept me sick in the first place.  The old ways did not work for me.  My way was a dead end.  I am grateful to be following the right Way now.

Proverbs Chapter 15 is full of good little nuggets of wisdom, but verse 24 stands out in light of the preceding thought from VOR.  Besides that, I was brought to weeping yesterday by a song about being led by the hand of God and being called to lead our families similarly.  That song, titled “Lead Me” by Sanctus Real, struck me in a tender spot left by a movie I saw with my son this weekend, “Courageous.”  It is a must see for any man or boy!   Verse 24 reads, “The path of life leads upward for the wise to keep him from going to the grave.”  Verse 33 describes reverence for God as the beginning of humility and wisdom, giving me a starting point for progress.  Verse 17 calls out to my disease, “Better a meal of vegetables where there is love than a fattened calf with hatred.”

In 1 Samuel 12, Samuel speaks to all Israel about the evil they have done in rejecting God as their king and asking for a human one.  He sets a balance of behavior in place that will prove to be impossible to keep plumb, “…if both you and the king who reigns over you follow the LORD your God – good!  But if you do not obey…his hand will be against you.” (verses 14 and 15)  While Samuel is calling down the thunder (literally, in verse 7), I found God speaking to me, “Now then, stand still and see the great thing the LORD is about to do before your eyes!” (verse 16)  “For the sake of his great name, the LORD will not reject his people, because the LORD was pleased to make you his own. “  (verse 22)  “Be sure to fear the LORD and serve him faithfully with all your heart, consider what great things he has done for you.”  (verse 24)  I am grateful for my daily deliverance and my contingent spiritual fitness.  God, continue to keep me in alignment with Your Way that You may be pleased with Your own.

Many times in my life I had prayed for the things I wanted God to do for me, but it had never occurred to me that He, in His Infinite Wisdom knew much better than I what I should have, and be, and do, and that if I simply turned the decision over to Him, I would be led along the right path.” (from “A Business Man’s Recovery” Alcoholics Anonymous)

