Voices of Recovery today says, “…people who remain in recovery are people who give service.  Service gives me practice at freeing myself from the bondage of self.  …Every time I give service without counting the hours I give or looking for any reward, I am filled with freedom, friendship, joy, and abstinent recovery.”  I had forgotten that my sponsor encouraged me almost immediately to engage in service as part of my walk toward recovery.  I guess he knew the power of this concept.  God, I offer myself to You, to build…usefulness to You and my fellows.

Proverbs 10, verses 4 and 5 speak on this vane of service and stewardship, “Lazy hands make a man poor, but diligent hands bring wealth.  He who gathers crops in summer is a wise son, but he who sleeps during harvest is a disgraceful son.”  Holy Father, may my relationship with You motivate me to reflect Your love and grace to those around me, and may I never be found shirking my duty to be Your hands and feet on earth.

The Philistines who captured the Ark of the Covenant learned the fear of the Lord by force, according to 1 Samuel, chapters 5 and 6.  God, who will not be mocked, turned the statue of Dagon on its face in front of the Ark, and afflicted the towns to which the Ark was carried with death and plague.  Finally, the Philistine rulers sent the Ark back in an unmanned cart pulled by cows.  Along with it, they placed offerings of gold, symbols of the plagues upon them: rats and tumors.  When it arrived, seventy of the Israelite townspeople were stuck dead for looking into the Ark.  It is amazing to me that, no matter how much better we know, there is something that compels us to reach beyond our boundaries for more power.  The Philistines reached out of bounds and God penalized them until they cried “uncle.” The townspeople knew better, but had to look inside the Ark they were forbidden to touch or even approach.  I, myself, know my own limits, but still try to control and manipulate people, places and things in my life.  God, I offer to You Your place on the throne of my life.  I am content, as Your child, in my place at Your feet.

Our real purpose is to fit ourselves to be of maximum service to God and the people about us.” (Alcoholics Anonymous, page 84)

