Today’s Voices of Recovery entry quotes the 12&12 of OA, pages 11-12 (from Step Two), “We had to admit that we had not acted sanely when we responded to our children’s needs for attention by yelling at them…”  I struggled with the phrase “restore us to sanity” when I first heard it, but that was before a thorough Step One assessment.  I used The Twelve Step Workbook of Overeaters Anonymous as a writing guide while I read through the first four chapters of the Big Book to help me get an understanding of just how out of bounds my game playing had been.  After a food and behavior inventory, not only was I willing to admit my life had become unmanageable, but as I analyzed the way I had treated people, especially my family, I wrote, “It is amazing I ever considered myself sane!”

 

Proverbs 6 contains a passage that used to haunt me when I was planted on the couch.  It still warns me not to stay there.  “How long will you lie there, you sluggard? When will you get up from your sleep? A little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest – and poverty will come on you like a bandit and scarcity like an armed man.” (verses 9-11)  I have to get up and do positive, constructive things if I want to make a change.  Affirmative action affirms action!

 

Ruth Chapters 3 and 4 tell of the redemption of the estate and widow of Elimelech.  Boaz did the noble thing when Ruth humbly presented herself at his feet.  The two were married and became the great-grandparents of King David.  This is a reminder to me that seemingly hopeless circumstances aren’t, and overwhelming obstacles shouldn’t be.  God will work His purposes even through the times of emptiness and pain.  Ruth 4:14 says, “The women said to Naomi: ‘Praise be to the LORD, who this day has not left you without a kinsman redeemer.  May he become famous throughout Israel!  He will renew your life and sustain you…” The parallel here cannot be denied.  I am grateful for my kinsman redeemer who, for the sake of His Name, bought me, a foreigner, at a dear price and included me in His estate and royal lineage forever and ever, and continues to renew my life and sustain me, one day at a time.

 

Established on such a footing we became less and less interested in ourselves, our little plans and designs.  More and more we became interested in seeing what we could contribute to life.  As we felt new power flow in, as we enjoyed peace of mind, as we discovered we could face life successfully, as we became conscious of His presence, we began to lose our fear of today, tomorrow or the hereafter.  We were reborn.”  (Alcoholics Anonymous, page 63)

