Today’s Voices of Recovery entry says, “A faith that works means I have to put action into my beliefs.  In the morning, I ask God for guidance, but I know my Higher Power is not going to prepare breakfast, lunch, and dinner for me.”  Put another way on page 88 of Alcoholics Anonymous and elsewhere, “Faith without works is dead.”

 

Proverbs 3:27 speaks of action too, “Do not withhold good from those who deserve it, when it is in your power to act.”  The next verse continues to convict, “Do not say to your neighbor, ‘Come back later; I’ll give it tomorrow’ – when you now have it with you.”  God, who empowers me to help others, help me to be watchful for and responsive to opportunities for service to You and my fellows.

 

In Judges Chapter 21, I read of a strange sort of getting around a vow made to God.  The entire nation of Israel had vowed that none should give their brother tribe, Benjamin, any of their daughters as wives because of their previous rebellion.  But since all the Benjamite women were dead, the men of the tribe were forced to kidnap wives for themselves.  The book closes with this statement, “In those days Israel had no king; everyone did as he saw fit.” (v. 25)   Clearly!  I am impressed with how far Israel was willing to go to keep their vow.  Many times in my life I took the easy way just because it was easy, then later considered my commitments to or not to act in those ways.  Action is required; but it has to be the right action.  At a conference I attended recently, I was told that, to make new habits one has to do the most difficult right thing.  Lord, reveal to me the next most difficult right thing, and empower me to do it.

 

A spiritual life is not a theory.  We have to live it.”  (Alcoholics Anonymous, page 83)

 

Have a blessed day!  (OD@aT)

 

Post Script: I wrote this in the morning, and lost my EAP job assignment in the afternoon.  I don’t know what next right thing God has for me next, but it will be okay.

