Voices of Recovery today recalls the promise from page 27 of the 12&12 of OA, “Once we compulsive overeaters truly take the Third Step, we cannot fail to recover.  As we live out our decision day by day, our Higher Power guides us through the remaining nine Steps.”  The contributor continues, “That decision has blessed me with the ability to see the miracles that occur regularly, to avoid the extremes of my disease, and to live in balance and harmony each day of my life.”  God, I truly offer myself to You, so You can restore me to useful balance.

Proverbs 30:7-9 is home to one of my favorite prayers.  Jesus even used part of it as a model for what we know as “the Lord’s Prayer.”

“Two things I ask of you, O LORD; do not refuse me before I die:Keep falsehood and lies far from me;Give me neither poverty nor riches, but give me only my daily bread. Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you and say, ‘Who is the LORD?’Or I may become poor and steal,and so dishonor the name of my God.”

This prayer speaks to me of the kind of contentment I am reaching for.  My “daily bread” certainly refers to much more than loaves of wheat flour, but is every provision of God from the Word He speaks to me in my reading, prayer and meditation, to the physical food He grants me to sustain me.  Every ration of God is enough and promotes the useful balance I never had before recovery.

The story of Samson and Delilah in Judges 16 is the tragic account of what happens to the “set aside” when they desert their noble purpose and pursue what they feel like instead.  Like so many of us, Samson’s downfall began in the previous chapter with a devastating loss – his wife.  Shortly thereafter he spends some energy on a prostitute, which seems to complete his turn toward self-service.  He soon fell in love with Delilah, a cunning trickster, who proved three times she was no good and was bent on betraying him to the Philistines.  Doing what he felt like instead of what he knew, he told Delilah the secret of his strength – his Nazirite abstinence from haircuts.  Just like family tends to do, Delilah thwarted his abstinence and ruined his strength.  It grew back in prison, and he was given power to bring the temple of Dagon down on the idol worshippers, killing everyone inside, including himself.

Holy Father, my Source of strength, may You continue to fill me, lead me, and accompany me all the days of my life; and may I never be distracted from my purpose of serving You and my fellows.

