Writing is one of my favorite tools in the recovery toolbox.  By documenting my spiritual journey, and committing it to others, I strengthen my recovery.  The level of accountability I am held to by this simple practice makes me grateful for the handful of people willing to accept that personal part of me.  By my transparency, I am kept from turning my back on the walk I have begun.  Merely sharing with others keeps me from giving in to that part of me that sometimes wants to give up.  Because of this communal attitude toward journaling my plan of eating, both physical and spiritual, I realize that I have a responsibility to only share the load with those willing to support me.  Therefore, I want to extend to you my most sincere gratitude for your encouraging support and interest in participating in my recovery.

 

Voices of Recovery today quotes page 167 of For Today, which says, “Abstinence is the beginning.”  The VOR contributor writes, “Putting the excess food down cleared my body and my mind so that I could be open to examine the defects of character in me that blocked me from my Higher Power.”  In OA, we have to be our own straight jacket for a short while, until we get to Step Three, and that can be tough.  AA & NA have their padded rooms, but we have to get abstinent and detox ourselves by repeatedly waltzing through Steps One through Three in miniature until we graduate to them fully.  I have to remind myself that I can be abstinent without “recovery,” but I cannot have recovery without Abstinence.  It starts when I stop.
Proverbs 28:20 aligns nicely with the financial balance study I am about to begin, and dovetails off the comment I made yesterday about contentment and “enough.”  “A faithful man will be richly blessed, but one eager to get rich will not go unpunished.”   Lord, fill me with faith, not for the blessing, but for the faithfulness.  Keep me under Your will for me, so that by my actions, I do not limit Your provision for me.  “Give me neither poverty nor riches, but give me only my daily bread.” (Proverbs 30:8)
Judges 14 tells of Samson’s riddle which, oddly enough, starts when he defiles himself by touching an unclean carcass to scoop out some honey, which he shared with his family (defiling them without their knowledge).  The man who was repeatedly strengthened by the Spirit of God was also repeatedly ruined by the lust of his eyes.  Because he gave into his human desires and emotions, his wife was given to one of his attendants, while he returned home to pout.  Sounds like a cycle I have certainly lived out!  God save me from the desires of my natural self, for I am made of meat, and therefore prone to rottenness.
