Today, the contributor to Voices of Recovery speaks of the paradoxes of the OA 12-Step spiritual program, “To let go is to find – to surrender is the greatest victory.” God keep me from struggling against Your loving care, and help me to, in complete surrender, lean back into Your loving arms that hold me.

This weekend has brought me numerous opportunities to talk to others and share what strengthens me. I have tried to remain prayerful that God would keep me humble, and that what I would say would strengthen others, and encourage them to find the hope that I have found. Today’s Proverb, chapter 25, verse 13 affirms my prayer eloquently:

“Like the coolness of snow at harvestime is a trustworthy messenger to those who send him; he refreshes the spirit of his masters.” (Proverbs 25:13)

Lord, keep my words from honoring me; but help them always to bless You who send me, and to inspire those with whom I share.

Judges 11 tells a story of an inspired warrior who makes a hasty vow. Jephthah, the Gileadite, was asked by those who had previously abandoned him to lead an army to victory. As he set out, he made a vow to the Lord, “If you give the Ammonites into my hands, 31 whatever comes out of the door of my house to meet me when I return in triumph from the Ammonites will be the LORD’s, and I will sacrifice it as a burnt offering.” After his victory, his daughter, an only child, rushed out of his house to greet him. He and his daughter learned the weight and magnitude of self-sacrifice quite literally.

“God, I offer myself to Thee to build with me and to do with me as Thou wilt. Relieve me of the bondage of self that I may better do Thy will. Take away my difficulties, that victory over them may bear witness to those I would help of Thy power, Thy love, and Thy way of life. May I do Thy will always.” (The Step Three Prayer, Alcoholics Anonymous, page 63)