Voices of Recovery today says, “The humility I have learned in OA has given me self-esteem for the first time.” This statement looks like the opposite of logic, but it is real. For me to assert my warped opinion of myself above the high value the Creator has pronounced over me by His loving care and lethal passion, would be to demote Him and promote me. If I take my proper place in His alignment, what He says goes, and what He says I am I will become. Holy Father, thank you for carefully making me and for, by Your actions, declaring me worth dying for.

Have you ever met someone who, by stomping on people and grabbing what they could, amassed wealth and prestige, only to find it didn’t satisfy them? Proverbs 21:21 reads, “He who pursues righteousness and love finds life, prosperity, and honor.” What is not in that verse, but what I have found to be true, is that when life, prosperity and honor are the goal of the one seeking, they completely elude him, leaving him with disappointment and regret, the fuel for dysfunctional misbehavior. These rewards are apparently only enjoyed by those the Lord gives them to and, according to verse 2, “the LORD weighs the heart.” Lord, keep me in alignment with Your will and under the flow of Your blessing, content with Your provision for me. Give me, this day, my daily bread.

In Judges 7, Gideon led a tiny army of 300 against an opposing force that, according to verse 12 was “as thick as locusts,” with camels that “could no more be counted than the sand on the seashore.” Each of the men carried a torch, concealed in a clay pot, and a trumpet. (I have heard elsewhere that it was customary for one soldier in a hundred to carry a trumpet, and one in ten or so to carry a torch.) On Gideon’s command, all of them shattered their clay pots, revealing the torch inside, yelled a battle cry, and blew their trumpets. The enemy fled, even turning on each other, until Israel was victorious by the hand of God. I love the allegory of the light inside only being revealed when the clay vessel is broken, and I love the way God proves that seemingly overwhelming forces aren’t. I am fairly certain that these warriors only had two hands each, and it says they carried the potted torches in one hand and the trumpets in the other. What faith they had to go into battle with no weapons drawn!

Precious Savior, thank you for winning my battles when I relinquish command. Thank you for shining through me most brightly when I am broken. Help me to face my shortcoming s in complete faith in You.

