You will notice that I remain anonymous in this forum.  It is by the anonymity of my identity that I can share openly the specific nature of my program of recovery, Overeaters Anonymous.  What follows is a brief description of my recovery and abstinence.


I. Recovery
This is a journal of my recovery – my coming over from insanity to serenity.  Recovery is a result of working the steps of Overeaters Anonymous.  My disease says, “Forget what’s right, I’m doing what feels good!”  My recovery says, “Forget what feels good, I’m doing what’s right!”  Therefore, I will intentionally act on life, rather than react to it according to my emotions.  I will have a plan, and follow it when possible; and otherwise calmly seek God’s guidance for a sane and loving action response, always bearing in mind my commitment to help someone and harm no one.
II. Abstinence
I abstain from:
·Eating outside planned meals;
·Sweets, cakes, ice-cream, and nachos;
·Eating out of packages that are not intended for single-serving use; and from
·Total disregard for planned consumption limits.
In Overeaters Anonymous (OA), The Statement on Abstinence and Recovery (WSBC Policy 1988b, Amended 2002, 2009 and 2011) has been revised to include the italicized words at the end of the first sentence: “Abstinence in Overeaters Anonymous is the action of refraining from compulsive eating and compulsive food behaviors while working towards or maintaining a healthy body weight. Spiritual, emotional and physical recovery is the result of living the Overeaters Anonymous Twelve-Step program.” Many of us have found we cannot abstain from compulsive eating unless we use some or all of OA’s nine tools of recoveryto help us practice the Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions.  (From www.OA.org)
III. The Tools of Recovery
The tools of recovery help me achieve and maintain abstinence as I live and practice the twelve steps and their corresponding principles in all of my affairs.  If my serenity is interrupted, or if I drop a tool, it does not mean that my abstinence or recovery is lost.   I define “recovery” as a graduation from insanity to serenity, first in my eating, and then in the rest of my life.  The tools are important and useful, but they are still merely tools and do not constitute my abstinence.
A. A Plan of Eating: “We are not a diet and calories club…” OA is a fellowship of spiritual recovery, not a community of commiseration!  My individual plan of eating is based on limiting my caloric intake and timing my meals to avoid hunger.  My sponsor and I have decided I should keep a healthy margin of plus or minus 100 calories in each daily limit.  Using LiveStrong’s suggestions as a guide, I have come up with a target of 2400 calories per day (plus or minus 100), making my healthy range 2300-2500 per day.  I time my meals as follows: breakfast (600-700 cals) around 6am, lunch (600-700 cals) between Noon and 1pm, supper (600-900 cals) between 5 & 6pm, and my metadjustment (200-400 cals) between 9 & 10pm.  I have begun logging my food online with LiveStrong.com’s MyPlate application.  I am committed to live my life as healthy as God gives me the power to, doing what I know to be right rather than what I feel like doing.
B. Sponsorship: I plan to communicate with my sponsor and be available to my sponsorees.
C. Meetings: I plan to go to four (4) meetings a week.
D. Telephone: I plan to phone at least one OA per day, and to be as available as I can to those who reach out to me.
E. Writing: I plan to record my food and at least one line of journal entry per day.  I share this by way of email with my sponsor and at least one other OA.
F. Literature: I plan to keep OA literature on hand, and to read some OA/AA literature each day.
G. Anonymity: I will respect the anonymity of my fellow OAs by keeping their names in the BCC field of emails, by omitting their last names in web-based communications related to OA, and by respecting the privacy of others.
H. Service: I continue to serve at the Group, Intergroup and Region levels; and OAs individually as the opportunities present themselves.
I. Action Plan: My action plan has two parts that, like all the tools intend, help me build my recovery.
1. Physical Fitness – I plan to workout at Planet Fitness on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings: 15 minute warm-up on the elliptical machine,  50 reps on the back extension rack, a 30-minute weight-lifting & cardiovascular combination, and a 5 minute cool-down on the treadmill.* I plan to take the stairs for any climb of two floors or less.  I plan to do some physical activity of some kind on the weekend (yard work, a walk, etc.).
2. Spiritual Fitness – OA is a fellowship of spiritual recovery, not a community of commiseration!  (“If tempted we recoil from it as from a hot flame…That is how we react so long as we keep in fit spiritual condition.” Alcoholics Anonymous, p.84-85)   I plan to start every day in gratitude to God for my life and my abstinence.  Then I will commit the gift of my day back to God.  I will ask Him to help me to help someone and harm no one each day, regardless of whether I, myself, feel helped or harmed.  I will spend time each morning reading the Bible, studying closely to find God’s word for me that day.  I will spend time earnestly seeking His wisdom, that I may be better equipped to serve those with whom I have contact.  I will close each day with an honest review of my day, examining my success and being honest in my failures.  I will forgive myself and strive to improve the next day.  (HERE are some of the Psalms I meditate on through my day that make my Steps 10 & 11 work for me.)
Serenity Prayer (the original, long version)
God, give us grace to accept with serenity
the things that cannot be changed,
Courage to change the things
which should be changed,
and the Wisdom to distinguish
the one from the other.
Living one day at a time,
Enjoying one moment at a time,
Accepting hardship as a pathway to peace
Taking, as Jesus did,
This sinful world as it is
Not as I would have it,
Trusting that You will make all things right,
If I surrender to Your will,
So that I may be reasonably happy in this life,
And supremely happy with You forever in the next.
Amen.
Your companion in recovery,

~TL

“LORD, you have assigned me my portion and my cup.” Psalm 16:5
“Better a dry crust with peace and quiet than a house full of feasting, with strife.” Proverbs 17:1
“Worship the LORD your God, and his blessing will be on your food and water.” Exodus 23:25a
