September 14th, my “belly button birthday”! I am grateful for this September 14th just as much as I am grateful for the one 43 years ago. I am also grateful for my parents who suffered me those early years and my wife and friends who have suffered me since.

Voices of Recovery today says, “…being thin is not the answer to my problems, and starving myself is not the quick fix I want it to be. There are no quick fixes. The only way to truly be a winner is by following a healthy plan of eating and working the Steps every day.” Well said!

Looking through Proverbs 14, I was feeling self-absorbed watching for a verse about me because, after all, it’s my day. Remember? Then I found one that humbled me. It contained both the Dr. Jekyl I am trying to be and the Mr. Hyde I really am. “A wise man fears the LORD and suns evil, but a fool is hotheaded and reckless.” (Proverbs 14:16) Oh, yeah! I’m broken and self-centered by nature. I have to shut off my nature and live today by faith in God. For that, I go to my switch (Galatians 2:20, Deuteronomy 4:39, Psalms 139:23-24).

Decisions, decisions! Who will I put in charge of my one day at a time? Not me, not my sponsor, not my expectations, but God alone. Today I finished the book of Joshua, and in Chapter 24, verse 15, Joshua called for the same decision:

“But if serving the LORD seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your forefathers served beyond the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the LORD.”

Will I choose to serve the gods of Hostess, Little Debbie, Willie Wonka, or the gods of the “give me more-ites?” No! I will serve God, and Him alone; and trust Him to provide for me my serving and portion.

Cake is not for me!

