When I was a child in Sunday School, we sang a song that affirmed my Higher Power’s love for me and contained the words, “Little ones to Him belong; they are weak but He is strong.” That song sang in my mind as I read the Voices of Recovery entry today, which reads, “Weakness is the glue that binds me to others in this program, and I can accept that I need help even after I have abstained from compulsive eating for years.”

Proverbs 12:14 spoke to me today, primarily because I have been seeking God’s will for me after this career of mine comes to an end in just a couple years. Elsewhere*, Scripture tells me to develop skills with my hands, and I have always assumed that meant to do or build something I could market. This nugget today said, “From the fruit of his lips a man is filled with good things, as surely as the work of his hands rewards him.” This opens options I might not have allowed myself to consider.

Joshua 23:8 reads, “You are to hold fast to the LORD your God as you have until now.” A verse prior to that uses the words, “be careful to obey,” reminding me that following God is a concerted effort of His blazing the trail and me finding and following it.

I am enthusiastic about my recovery with new energy today. I got to share support with people in extra-special way several times throughout my day today. I went to a Big Book focus meeting, followed by a business meeting, followed by a parking lot meeting, followed by two phone meetings. It was an intense set of recovery-promoting interactions – sort of a self-made OA marathon. The topic of the first phone meeting I attended was “enthusiasm” (for recovery). At the end of a day like this, I am grateful for a disease that brought me to this “re-programming” of recovery and gave feet to my faith. Yesterday, I had a thought that I wrote down but have apparently lost since then. It went something like this: Those of us who are addicted to more, must connect to the One who is Most, and find our new home under His care.

