Voices of Recovery today speaks of Step 11 and the contributor writes, “I finally succumbed to the idea that ‘nothing, absolutely nothing’ is without design and purpose… Suddenly the door of faith swung open widely enough for me to concede that God does exist, and He engineers circumstances to bring about my highest good.” We may never know the answers to the questions “why?” and “what if?” with which the deceiver plagues us, but we can have the assurance that whatever the answers are, God will make use of the outcomes. When I acknowledge that He is in control and release my will to His, I get to rest in the peace that comes through faith.

Proverbs 11:17, “A kind man benefits himself, but a cruel man brings trouble on himself.” My character defects, according to my work on Steps 4 and 8, have done more damage to the man in the mirror than to anyone else. That is not to in any way diminish the harm I have done others, but it is important for me to remember that I owe myself the amends of living life as healthy as I can today. One meal, one day at a time, I will help myself become whole by being kind rather than cruel; by sowing love and not harboring bitterness.

The Prayer of Saint Francis of Assisi
Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.
Where there is hatred, let me sow love.
Where there is injury, pardon.
Where there is doubt, faith.
Where there is despair, hope.
Where there is darkness, light.
Where there is sadness, joy.
O Divine Master,
grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled, as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;
to be loved, as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive.
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.
Amen.

Before sending them to their inheritance, Joshua said to the Eastern tribes of Israel, “For a long time not – to this very day – you have not deserted your brothers but have carried out the mission the LORD your God gave you.” I hope the same will be said of me before I am welcomed into my inheritance. To be sure, I will remain faithful to my mission to serve my brothers and sisters.

