Voices of Recovery today speaks of our Higher Power being the only help that is always available to us. The contributor writes, “When self-will runs riot, or character defects flare-up, I trust my Higher Power to lead me back to a path of sane living.” I especially relate to the image of character defects flaring up. A burning, consuming, burst of damaging heat is a good description of most of mine. Lord, You may have each one as You are ready to relieve me of them.

Proverbs 4:11 Tells me that my Heavenly Father’s instruction will “guide (me) in the way of wisdom and lead (me) along straight paths.” Verses 26 and 27 warn me that I have a part to take in this too. “Make level paths for your feet and take only ways that are firm. Do not swerve to the right or the left; keep your foot from evil.

This chapter also addresses one of my defects in verse 24, “Put away perversity from your mouth; keep corrupt talk far from your lips.”

