I like “if-then” statements. They turn threats into warnings. “IF you come in my house at night unannounced THEN I will shoot you.” They make promises into contracts. “IF you do all your homework THEN you can play games.” Proverbs 2 contains such a contract, the promise of which is nicely summed up in verse 5, “…then you will understand the fear of the LORD and find the knowledge of God.” To read the “if” part, one will have to read Proverbs 2.

The 5 kings that remained after Gibeon made its treaty with Israel joined together to destroy Gibeon. Trusting Israel and her God, Gibeon called out to Israel for help. The army marched out, but God did most of the fighting. By confusion, hailstones, and finally stopping the sun, God gave Israel complete victory. Joshua 10:42, “All these kings and their lands Joshua conquered in one campaign, because the LORD, the God of Israel, fought for Israel.” Imagine what a God like that could do for my character defects!

My baby girl is home from college for the weekend and I have the rare opportunity to spend time with her tomorrow, so I will not be at my home group meeting in the morning. I sat in on a couple telephone meetings yesterday. There is a 100-pounders meeting every night at 9pm, especially for those who are or were 100 or more pounds overweight. I have only listened in on about four phone meetings. It serves as a nice supplement. I would hate to rely on it for my recovery though. I am grateful for my group of guys!

