Voices of Recovery’s entry for today talked about turning problems over to God and the complete confidence we can have when we are willing to surrender such problems. I rest in comfortable agreement with that, but would like to strive for a life that goes a step further: to trust Him with my life, with the same complete confidence, even before the problems arise. In my experience most of my problems are of my own making, and are usually the result of my thinking I am, will, or can think, do, or be what God should be in any given situation. I can prevent a lot of problems just by staying out of God’s seat! If I’m waiting until a situation has become a problem to turn it over to God, I’m missing something.

Proverbs 30 actually makes this point as sort of a, “Who do you think you are?” question, in verse 4:
Who has gone up to heaven and come down?
Who has gathered up the wind in the hollow of his hands?
Who has wrapped up the waters in his cloak?
Who has established all the ends of the earth?
What is his name, and the name of his son?
Tell me if you know!

The chapter closes with a warning bit of advice, “If you have played the fool and exalted yourself or if you have planned evil, clap your hand over your mouth! For…stirring up anger produces strife.” That’s two days in a row I got schooled on stirring anger!

Joshua 7 is about a man named Achan, who stole some of the honor due God. He kept some of the plunder of Jericho in his tent though God had forbidden it. God’s response was to lift His protection and favor off Israel, and they were beaten and run off by the people of Ai, who were few. When Israel identified the source of their trouble, they obeyed god and purged the evil from among them, and God’s blessing returned.

I am asking myself, “How have I been stealing from God?” “How have I kept back for myself some of the life situations, some of the trust, some of the glory or credit?” God deserves all my trust all day long. All my faith belongs in Him, not in my money, time, energy, ability, or resources. All the credit, honor and proceeds are His, not mine. What progress I have, I got by admitting I was powerless and trusting God. To take the credit now is stealing from the One who brought me this far. NOTE: They called Achan’s burial plot “The Valley of Achor” or, “The Valley of Trouble.” I want to stay out of that valley!

