Voices of Recovery’s entry for today emphasized the importance of being able to “…recognize a well-lived day and be grateful for it.” The writer continues, “Today, a day is well-lived if I am abstinent by the grace of my Higher Power and this Fellowship and if I have acted courteously and kindly toward myself and others, so I owe no amends.”

Since it is the 19th, I read Proverbs Chapter 19 today. (I’m back on track!) Verses 11, 12 and 13 have never seemed to string together like they do for me today. 11 speaks of wisdom giving patience, and says, “…it is to (our) glory to overlook an offense.” While I am no king, except that I play one within the walls of my home, verse 12 warns, “A king’s rage is like the roar of a lion, but his favor is like dew on the grass.” Last night, Mrs. TL and I watched part of a NatGeo documentary, ironically titled, “Lions on the Edge,” that depicted the dry conditions of the Serengeti, and I saw an entire herd of dying but very powerful buffalo give up their newly found source of life-giving water to one male lion. One roar sent every one of those powerful, valuable yet fragile lives fleeing from their only life support. In my disease, I have the same effect when my rage roars. How I wish I could be as refreshing as dew on the grass instead! …Especially because verse 13 says, “A foolish son is his father’s ruin, and a quarrelsome wife is like a constant dripping.” If we have to live in the house we build, it is in my best interest to nurture those around me rather than subject them to my raging nature.

Deuteronomy 30:19-20 supports me in this decision and in my recovery. “…Now choose life, so that you and your children may live and that you may love the LORD your God, listen to His voice, and hold fast to Him. For the LORD is your life…”

“Choose life…for the Lord is your life.” I think I will!

