“A fool finds no pleasure in understanding, but delights in airing his own opinions.”’ (Proverbs 18:2) I don’t want to be that guy! But I must admit I am from time to time. A theme of this chapter is the use and misuse of words. It leads me to ask myself, “How have I used my words to encourage others to share, rather than to promote my own opinion? How could I improve? “The tongue has the power of life and death…” (v.21) Have I been rattling it for my own ends or using it to ensure peace?

Deuteronomy 28 draws out the rewards of obedience and the curses of rebellion against God. “There the LORD will give you an anxious mind, eyes weary with longing, and a despairing heart. You will live in constant suspense, filled with dread both night and day, never sure of your life.” (vs. 65b-66) I do not mean to belittle the sufferings of the accursed by comparing mine to theirs, but there is something about that passage that feels familiar from my life before applying spiritual principles. This reaffirms for me that I want to do whatever is necessary to live in the sunshine of God’s blessing, rather than the darkness of His neglect. Thank God for grace!

I went to the gym this morning, but couldn’t do four of my 10 weight machines (chest press, vertical pull-down, seated row, and vertical press). I did some core-flexes on an apparatus with which I am not entirely familiar to make up for the workout time I was missing. I still finished early, so here I am at the computer. I am looking forward to a day of being a blessing. God is in charge, not me!

