Voices of Recovery’s entry for today on page 220, which focuses on preoccupation and control, reads in part, “The fat was only the physical manifestation of the cocoon I had built to isolate myself from the pain of living. What I needed was a Higher Power to control my life and help me deal with my feelings, fears, and insecurities.”

Proverbs 16 contained confirmation that my recent decision to steer clear of the Martial Arts is consistent with my beliefs, even though it hurts to give up. Verse 2 reminded me that, “All a man’s ways seem innocent to him, but motives are weighed by the LORD.” Verse 32 really nailed it in good, “Better a patient man than a warrior, a man who controls his temper than one who takes a city.” A dear friend of mine commented on my post yesterday about no need for Eastern disciplines, when good old fashioned redneck boxing should take care of all comers. My response was one I needed to hear myself say. It was, “If I have to resort to boxing, I figure I have already lost.” My priority is not to come out on top of any interaction, but by my submission and attitude of service, be in a position to serve even those who would hurt me.

Deuteronomy 25 spoke to me about rendering honor due, Chapter 26 about giving to God out of what is best and first, and not just out of what is left over after I have all I want. It reminded me that, with obedience comes blessing. Chapter 27 contains twelve curses for the disobedient and rebellious. I know full well that God’s grace is free for me and His favor rests on me from even before I was knit together in my mother’s womb, but I want to live on the blessing side of His favor, if for no other reason than for gratitude.

