The Voices of Recovery entry for today referenced the OA12&12, p. 106, “Here we experience the great truth that when we let go of our need to control people and simply allow our Higher Power to serve others through us, we receive an abundance of joy and strength.” The submitter comments, “Allowing God to server others through me has become the central purpose of my life,” and goes on to say, “When I remember that my purpose tis to allow Godto serve others through me, my relationships are easier, my work life is a pleasure, and my home life is a joy.” I am still trying to get the home version of that practice programmed in, but I like the picture painted by this description, and hope to step into it someday soon.

Proverbs 14:8 says, “The wisdom of the prudent is to give thought to their ways, but the folly of fools is deception.” It’s not wrong! I’m not THAT sick! S/He hurt me worse/first! Surely I deserve to have this! These are all echoes of my self-centered folly that deceived this fool, and still try. Giving thought to my way(s) is a new practice, but it is growing me into something new, and I like it. Verse 12 of today’s chapter says, “There is a way that seems right to a man, but in the end it leads to death.” I have to remember that for me to allow myself to be deceived is to die, and to consider and plot my paths according to my Higher Power is life!

The sermon at church today and an unrelated Bible study both confirmed this principle: that knowledge of what to do is nothing unless we are willing to follow through with the action that can make us develop, however gradually, into what we are becoming. Acceptance is good groundwork, but obedient, compliant action is required to build on that foundation.

