Proverbs 13:24, “He who spares the rod hates his son, but he who loves him is careful to discipline him.” I am still seeking HP’s perfect way for me, but celebrating these reminders of His careful love for me.

Deuteronomy 20 has instruction for Israel’s (and my) posture when facing an overwhelming enemy. “When you go to war against your enemies and see horses and chariots and an army greater than yours, do not be afraid of them, because the LORD your God who brought you out of Egypt, will be with you. …Do not be fainthearted or afraid; do not be terrified or give way to panic before them. For the LORD your God is the one who goes with you to fight for you against your enemies to give you victory.” (v.1, 3) Compulsive overeating, the life I lived to support it, and the defeated down-beaten attitudes it caused were an overwhelmingly large enemy. The Steps and fellowship of OA were, to me, God’s’ choreography for successfully warring this enemy. I am grateful for His battle plan and power, and for the fact that I do not stand alone on this battlefield. The Power that guides, strengthens and protects me put me side by side with warriors I am proud to call my fellows in recovery!

