Proverbs 12:15 says, “The way of a fool seems right to him, but a wise man listens to advice.” How can I be certain I am not the fool on his way, convinced of my own rightness, unless I make a habit of listening and applying advice? I am still trying to bend my ear toward whatever lessons my current position and circumstances may have been orchestrated for me to learn. The self-consumed part of me rationalizes that it might not be my traveling off course that has the rod of correction gently tapping my shoulder. Certainly salt and pepper can land on the same table. But verse 21 says, “No harm befalls the righteous, but the wicked have their fill of trouble.” I understand that “righteous” is the condition of pure, uncorrupted rightness, and that “there is no one righteous; no, not one.” (Romans 3:12 WEV; Psalm 14:1-3; Ecclesiastes 7:20) Still, if I am striving in that direction, this should come as a road sign for me that I may still have one foot on the way of the fool that just “seems” right.

I want to walk in the right footsteps and be ever sensitive to the voice and gentle nudging of my Higher Power as He leads me in His perfect path. When I read my daily readings, I do so under a wall-mounted reminder of Psalm 86:11, “Teach me your way, O LORD, and I will walk in your truth; give me an undivided heart, that I may fear your name.”

