Today’s message for me came through verses 11 & 12 of Proverbs 9, and had to do with wisdom, a characteristic I am trying to develop a personal relationship with, as yesterday’s verse called her my sister. “For through me (wisdom) your days will be many, and years will be added to your life. If you are wise, your wisdom will reward you; if you are a mocker, you alone will suffer.” This reminds me that the relationship I choose to build will have a dramatic effect on the rest of my life.

In my other reading, Deuteronomy 13:4 spoke to me, “It is the LORD your God you must revere. Keep His commands and obey Him; serve Him and hold fast to Him.” Chapter 13 spoke to me of the dire measures we are called to take to keep God first. Chapter 14 reminded me to celebrate God’s portion with Him and to share my portion with others so that He can bless me.

My peer support team is getting training today in the area of substance abuse and addiction. It reminds me that the attitude of acceptance and understanding common in the fellowship of recovery is not universal. There are a lot of misguided preconceptions and toxic prejudice that cripple the general population from being able to help those of us who are or have been suffering from addiction disease. It takes one of us to help one of us! I am grateful for my fellowship of recovery!! While I did not have to present to the group, I was responsible for all the equipment and facilitating for the presenter, who brought VHS tapes! (If you are teaching at a college, and the year is 1995 or later, please don’t bring VHS tapes!) My day was filled with frustration, migrating my team from classroom to classroom, fiddling with equipment until I finally rigged up a solution. I’m glad I wasn’t the class’ example of sobriety. None of them would get a clear picture of recovery if I had been!

My friend is back in surgery again at this very moment. I’m okay over that for now, one moment at a time.

I’m heading off for Judo. It’s time to sweat and toss out some frustration onto a crash mat!

