Yesterday I celebrated, through Scripture, my relationship with the Creator as His son. Today Proverbs 7:4 reintroduced me to more family. “Say to wisdom, ‘You are my sister,’ and call understanding your kinsman.” I would like to have such a relationship with those two relatives! The other lesson I learned reminded me of how humility and understanding go hand in hand. (Deuteronomy 9:6) “Understand, then, that it is not because of your righteousness that the LORD your God is giving you this good land to possess…” Last night, in my bedtime reading of It’s Not About You by Max Lucado, I came across a similar point. After Isaiah caught a glimpse of God, he was completely humbled, and worried for his own safety for having beheld God’s greatness. Lucado points out, “He finds humility, not through seeking it, but through seeking Him.” So, humility comes, not from finding that I am worth less, but in finally realizing that Him to whom I belong is worth so very far more. My following directive came in the next chapter of this morning’s reading, “And now, (Todd), what does the LORD your God ask of you but to fear the LORD your God, to walk in all his ways, to love him, to serve the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul…?” (Deuteronomy 10:12, emphasis mine)

I was still grumpy today, when things didn’t go according to my plan. I feel my exhaustion catching up with me. I, therefore, am going to bed, even though it is not yet 3 in the afternoon.

