Today’s proverb reflected what I read in my other reading today and yesterday. It reminds me that the purpose of the discipline I receive is my own good, whether that discipline comes from my Higher Power, my parents, or wherever it may come. Furthermore, it reminds me that correction is reasonable, just as I would direct my own child, not because I’m mean, but because I only want good things for them, like healthy life and relationships. Proverbs 6:20 & 23 say, “My son, keep your father’s commands and do not forsake your mother’s teaching. …For these commands are a lamp, this teaching is a light, and the corrections of discipline are the way to life.” See how well paired that instruction goes with Deuteronomy 6:18a, and 8:5, “Do what is right and good in the LORD’s sight, so that it may go well with you…” “Know then in your heart that as a man disciplines his son, so the LORD your God disciplines you.”

Three days ago, I read a similar statement, (Proverbs 3:11-12) “My son, do not despise the LORD’s discipline and do not resent his rebuke, because the LORD disciplines those he loves, as a father the son he delights in.” I like the way this one gives me hope when I feel like life is giving me a spanking – hope that the reason I’m being disciplined is because I am loved, accepted, esteemed, and cared for by the Power that is Higher than them all, and He has my best interest at heart!

