My friend is still in critical care, and the doctors refuse to give us any hope that he will survive his septic condition. I was the last to pray with him when he was awake before his surgery, and have prayed with him and his wife a couple times while he remains unconscious. His condition is so poor that for me to pray for his survival may actually be selfishly calling for his continued suffering. They tell me that if he does survive, he will likely be paralyzed and in agony. I cannot change his condition; God can; I will let God be God. I submit to His will. (Man! That’s hard!!) God grant me serenity to accept what You decide!

Wednesday, I was able to get to the doctor’s office and report my wellness check results. The doc’s response was, “Wow!” I got permission to lose 5 more pounds as long as I do it in the way I have done the other weight. She agrees that it is smarter to lose weight well and live in the weight-class I will compete in, instead of starving and sweating down to make the weigh-ins like so many athletes do. Her provisos are that I not lose the lean muscle, that I not lose more than necessary, that I continue eating the healthy kind of foods that have made this possible. I am in no rush, because I am a long way off from being ready for competition, but it’s good to know how I should be preparing.

My reading this morning was helpful. From Voices of Recovery, p. 211, “OA is a spiritual program. It means living a spiritual life. Recovery comes and remains by being faithful to surrender, prayer, and meditation on a daily basis.” I also read Psalm 94:17-19, “Unless the LORD had given me help, I would soon have dwelt in the silence of death. When I said, “My foot is slipping,” your love, O LORD, supported me. When anxiety was great within me, your consolation brought joy to my soul.” I am grateful for the recovery that comes with surrendering control of my will and my life to a power high enough to trust.

