Today, God went with me each step of my day. And it’s a good thing!

My lunch was interrupted with a panicked phone call from my son, who is okay, but was in a car accident that claimed his car. With liability, medical and PIP only, he is grounded, with a new job on Friday and no funds. God kept him safe, and provided me an opportunity to be helpful.

My dear mother provided me an opportunity to makeup with her, so we buried the hatchet and swapped apologies and forgave one another. God gave me the opportunity to help her get over one of the things that was alienating her from the world.

My buddy and his wife were in total despair at the hospital, and are looking forward to surgery and months of joblessness during recovery. God gave me an opportunity to listen and “weep with those who weep.”

Other family issues were brought to my attention concerning issues that are not mine to share publicly, and God presented those as opportunities to demonstrate support and encouragement.

Through it all, God reminded me that whatever is wrong with me is no big deal! I am grateful for the air in my lungs, the clothes on my back, and the roof over my head. Thank you, Holy Father, for forgiving my past, for providing for my future, and for letting me live in the moment in between the two, one at a time, completely free!

I did not make it to Judo, but I did stay abstinent. Gym in the morning, God willing!

