The cholesterol result from my recent blood donation on July 2nd was 118 (down from 212). I spent the morning at a full physical wellness examination, complete with ultrasound imaging of the vital organs and vessels, stress test EKG, and flexibility and pulmonary capability tests. The test results and the reactions of the staff to the progress I have made since last year’s exam described me generally between “good” and “excellent” condition, with a body fat index of 15.5% (Amazing!) The full blood scan results will not be in for a few days, but the general consensus of everything except the hearing and vision screening was, “WOW!” I still can’t hear or see squat, but I’m healthy as a horse!

I was asked by several people (a few who may be suffering from my condition) what measures I took to achieve such progress, and answered each with a candid revelation of my program, as if each was an opportunity to help someone in answer to my prayer for just such earlier in the morning.

I, like a rescued swimmer, am saved from drowning to bring a few aboard the lifeboat.

Furthermore, I was able to keep pretty close to a normal breakfast even though I had to fast until the ultrasound exam was over. I traded my quinoa, potato, and flax for some raw almonds; my canteloupe and honey/vinegar/gelatin tea for a grapefruit and prunes; a hard-boiled egg and banana travel too well to be adjusted.

The proverb that stood out to me today was verse 11 of chapter 19, “A man’s wisdom gives him patience; it is to his glory to overlook an offense.” It reminds me that in Step Nine, I am called to make amends for the wrongs my character defects have harmed, not harvest amends for those done me. Forgiving others is a prerequisite to my peace, regardless of whether they have asked for it or made any attempt to mend our relationship. It’s described in the Big Book as a course of realizing our offender is sick, then asking God to help us show tolerance, pity, and patience; to show us how we can be helpful to them; and to save us from being angry. (p.67)

