It’s Independence Day! Happy Birthday, United States of America!!!

I woke up at a leisurely 7am, and had breakfast. Then went to the gym for my regular Monday workout, surrounded by unfamiliar faces at the holiday hour. I came home by way of the grocery store, and cleaned up a little, then lunch and yard work. I’ve got a Big Book meeting tonight, and family looking forward to 4th of July stuff.

I paid extra for a wedge of watermelon at the store today while whole melons were on sale. This is contrary to my nature that usually gets as much food for the dollar as possible. My new thinking is: if I don’t need a whole watermelon, don’t buy a whole watermelon! Earth-shattering, I know, but kind of neat for me.

Today’s piece of wisdom couldn’t be cut to one verse. The section of text, verses 23-27 of Proverbs chapter 4 goes well with 12-Step recovery, and says to me, “Step where I step, Son, and it will go well with you.” The real text reads as follows:

23 Above all else, guard your heart,
for it is the wellspring of life.
24 Put away perversity from your mouth;
keep corrupt talk far from your lips.
25 Let your eyes look straight ahead,
fix your gaze directly before you.
26 Make level paths for your feet
and take only ways that are firm.
27 Do not swerve to the right or the left;
keep your foot from evil.

