The verse of the day for me was, “He who trusts in himself is a fool, but he who walks in wisdom is kept safe.” (Proverbs 28:26)  It goes well with the text we read in the Alcoholics Anonymous Big Book last night, “We trust infinite God, rather than our finite selves.”  And, “Just to the extent that we do what we think He would have us, and humbly rely on Him, does he enable us to match calamity with serenity.”  I sometimes backslide into trusting myself, and I am gently reminded that I don’t want the responsibility for what I cannot control.
In talking with a fellow in recovery last night, I heard myself confess that, more than a food addict, I am actually a “my-way addict.”  Before I came into recovery through working the steps, I had to have my way!  It was any failure to get my way that made me pout into a bag of chips or carton of ice cream.  Now, I am glad to surrender my way in preference for The Way!  He knows much better what He is doing that I ever did!
I am so exhausted today that even my thinking became futile.  I was forgetting simple things, and spinning my wheels on projects that don’t matter while there were more important things that did.  It was good that I got out of the office when I did.  I miss my Tuesday night meeting group (the first room I walked in), but made it to Judo class.  I am expanding my territory, and learning new things.  It reminds me of when God first said to me (when I first read Isaiah 43:18-19), “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.”  He is turning me into a person who is at home in this new body He has uncovered, and I am supremely grateful!  No food was ever so satisfying as living this agile, healthy and empowered is.
